Because the green bean told me so

The idea for this blog came to me yesterday.  Two factors have been converging in my life that have been nudging me towards wanting to create a new sharing space:

  1. I am recognizing many more small – but fun – things in my everyday life.  Tiny little things that make me pause, perhaps blink, and then grin.  Or chuckle.  Or sometimes out-and-out guffaw (though that is still a pretty rare occurrence).
  2. The weather is starting to enter a “SAD” time of year; and while I would like things to be different, the fact is that I am pretty significantly influenced by the comings and goings of Mother Nature.

So yesterday, I started exploring possible communication themes I might want to string together, and possible names for a web space, and possible layouts and designs I might want to play with…

But I’m already kind of a busy gal.  In addition to my family, and my (our) dog, and my friends, and my job, and my volunteer commitments, and my hobbies, and the two other blog spaces I try and maintain, there are still more things I’d like to do with what open time I am able to find.  Snippets of minutes hidden in little cracks between commitments, small packages of openness discovered in a forgotten agenda slot or a canceled meeting…I so value them all.  Do I really want to surrender more of these by taking on yet another writing venture?

So last night, I decided that now just wasn’t the right time to fire up another blog.  Later, when the weather got really cold, or my teacher training program slowed down, or if my job gets boring, or when I wasn’t traveling so much… then, then I would maybe start up another blog.  But not right now.

I went to bed, fell asleep, and pretty much put the idea for this space out of my head.

Until.  Today, twelve o’clock.  I’m sitting at the kitchen table, eating my lunch, reading a magazine article, minding my own business, when I look down at my bowl to scoop up my last bite of vegetable.  And check out what I saw:

Please note, I did *not* manufacture this picture.  I promise you, as I went to pierce my fork into this last straggler, I looked down – and once again encountered a situation where I paused, blinked, then smiled.

Clearly, “someone out there” wants me to get started with this little project.  I mean, how much more obvious does the “message” need to be?

So okay, okay, I hear you.  I get it.  I understand.  I’m starting.

Let the fun begin.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Because the green bean told me so

  1. Katie says:

    Loved the smiley green bean appearance! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. I love your picture of the cup! That is terrific! I am glad you are taking the time out of your already filled schedule. It sounds like there is a lot you have to share with people! I look forward to reading more.

    Tara

    Like

  3. classyrose says:

    Destiny, fate, whatever you want to call it. You had an idea and dismissed it but it wouldn’t stay buried. I bet you’re glad you looked down before you took that last bean. 😉

    Like

  4. Oye says:

    I love the picture. I also like the idea of putting a link to your first post in your About section. I was wondering how to get people to look at the first post of my blog. Good luck with the Post A Day challenge. 🙂

    Like

  5. rutheh says:

    love the green bean smiley!
    Fun.

    Like

  6. smilesndreams says:

    cute picture!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Stalked by smiles | Smile, kiddo.

  8. rebekah says:

    «Someone/something» indeed managed to convey a strong message 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Yes – that is the way my higher power rolls…. when I’m oblivious, or uncertain, or just being plain ol’ stubborn, ‘messages’ will be sent with increasing obviousness and intensity, until finally I do what I’m being instructed to do. I’ve learned from my past; now I try and take action on these messages as soon as I’m aware of them, lest they become more and more ‘painful’… 😉

      Like

  9. What an interesting way to begin a blog! I’m glad you took time for the picture of the green-beany-smile! In the future when I see your blog header smile, I’ll think of the green one(!) 😉

    I’ve enjoyed looking around your blog. As you might guess from the theme of my own blog, I like your attitude toward the everyday things of life and look forward to following along on more of your daily adventures. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      It’s funny – many people I now know say that whenever they see a smile (be it on a cookie, or on their kid’s sticker from school, or whatever), that they think of me and this blog. I can’t think of a more beautiful compliment.

      And thank you for subscribing to this blog; I know everyone is so busy in life, and it truly touches me when people decide they want to stay connected with me. 🙂

      Like

  10. Pingback: My Life: In 36 Sentences | Smile, kiddo.

  11. JokeL says:

    hi stef! love this!
    I’m just starting to read your posts.. and I think I want to include you in my blog roll.. 🙂
    smile! 🙂

    Like

  12. i can’t believe i missed this! best first post ever! 😀

    Like

  13. Pingback: Influence | Smile, kiddo.

  14. Pingback: The truth set me free – and made me smile | Smile, kiddo.

  15. Pingback: Wherever you go, there you are | Smile, kiddo.

  16. Pingback: Reader Appreciation | Smile, kiddo.

  17. I love your green bean happy face!
    Take a look at what my five year old son found on his plate at Panda Express one day. We still talk about it!
    http://perfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com/2011/08/05/better-than-the-face-of-jesus-on-toast-pig-apparition-on-orange-chicken/

    Like

  18. After 9/11, I decided that the big things, like getting on an airplane and traveling cross country, were no longer exciting to me. Thus I started looking around me for the little things in life that could bring me excitement and please, deciding to re-explore and re-discover San Diego and Southern California. Wow! I’ve been missing out all these years even though I live here.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      It’s funny how we so often neglect what is right in our own back yard (both literally and figuratively). I’m happy to hear you’re having fun re-discovering your home area!

      Like

  19. Laurel Lewis says:

    Wow, I love that your inspiration came from a green bean…that is awesome! I’m hopping on board your blog and so glad to be a part of the fun….Found you through Crowing Crone!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Hi Laurel, thank you so much for reading, commenting, and subscribing! I genuinely appreciate it. Many thanks to Joss as well; she’s quite the special lady. 🙂

      Like

  20. Inspiration comes in many ways. This one tops in “Awesomeness!” A smile a day keeps the heart soaring. Thanks.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’ve found inspiration in some strange places. And I agree that a smile a day is completely fantastic. Thank you for your kind comments!

      Like

  21. dolphinph06 says:

    I just found your blog and felt the need to follow you! I’m new to blogging, just made mine a couple days ago. I love this page, it’s awesome!! I love the picture of what you looked down to see! Happiness smiling back at you!! I plan on looking at your blog more tomorrow as it is almost 11:30pm now. Have a great night!!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Hi Amanda, thank you so much for stopping by my blog, and for choosing to follow! I really appreciate it. I’d love for you to poke around the blog, and leave any comments/thoughts you might have. Feel free to share you happy, too. 🙂

      Like

  22. Pingback: And the Award for Most Terrifying Toilet Goes to… | Tip of My Tongue

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

