Thanks Gandhi(s).

Disclaimer before we begin: If I personally know you (i.e., we are acquaintances, co-workers, friends, and/or relatives), this post is not directed towards you.  Please don’t create content that isn’t here; there is no subtext/reading-between-the-lines implications “hidden” in this post.  Hopefully the examples I use will illustrate this point, but just in case, I’ll also provide this flashing neon sign so as to avoid any potential, even-remotely-possible lingering confusion.  Got it?  This post is not about you. Okay.  We will now return to our regularly scheduled post.


It seems that every where I went today, people were grumpy.  Patrons at the coffee shop were unnecessarily terse with the baristas.  Individuals in the skyways were more pushy and jostling than usual.  People returning to their cars/bus stops at the end of the day were complaining to one another about their peers, their bosses, their jobs, their families, their lives.  Ugh.  So draining.  Yet despite my very best efforts to remain positive, I felt myself starting to slide into frustration.  Can’t people realize their “problems” are so minor in the grand scheme of things?  Can’t people recognize all of the amazing things in the world, and appreciate these gifts that are too often just taken for granted?

On my way to meet a friend for dinner this evening, I found myself sitting in my car, stopped at a red light, giving my spirit a little pep talk: “Stef, try your best to not let other people’s negativity getcha down.  Okay?  Be the change you wish to see in the world.  Be the change…” And at this point in the semi-conscious/semi-subconscious mental self-talk, I glanced out my right car window, and saw:

I never really understood why some people hold hostility towards kids who like to skateboard.  I imagine at one point in time, maybe skateboarders were destructive to public property or something?  Or maybe kids who skateboard also tend to have piercings and tattoos and other marks that look less “socially acceptable” (by some people’s standards), and these teens are therefore labeled as delinquents, or troublemakers, or just plain intimidating/scary…?  I don’t know.  What I do know is that when I saw these young adults peacefully standing, not doing much except looking content and truly happy, I smiled.  For me, they were the change I needed to see in the world today.  I only hope I get to do that for someone else, too.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanks Gandhi(s).

  1. I look forward to reading more on my next visit.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thank you for all of the reading you did today! It looks like you were pretty busy. 🙂 I truly appreciate your comments and your interest.

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

