Service with a smile

Today was very rainy and wet, with rain forecasted to stay for the next few days.  Today was also garbage collection day in my neighborhood.  As I put out the trash and recycling to the curb this morning, I thought about the people who would be picking up these items later in the day – and honestly, I was grateful I wouldn’t be working in this wet weather.

However, mid-morning I did have to go outside in the rain – I had to take our dog for her first walk of the day.  I donned my boring gray rain jacket and my crazy hot pink rain boots (seriously), put the leash on the pup, and headed out the door.  We both managed to stay relatively dry on our brief-but-successful outing (our dog doesn’t like poor weather any more than I do), and as we approached our home, we saw the garbage truck stop at the end of our driveway.

The driver popped out of the side of the truck, attached the can to the lift, and took care of business.  As he saw the dog and I turn towards the house, and smiled, fully stopped what he was doing, and engaged me in brief conversation.

He looked me in the eyes, and commented that it looked like the rain was going to stay a while, but that it’s okay; it makes the grass thick and green, right?  And you know, we did have a rather wet summer, but didn’t the rain make the nice days even more enjoyable?  And if the precipitation continues into the winter, well, that means lots of snow; but that also makes for good sledding – and activities for the kids, you know… And anyway, he should get going, but enjoy the green grass that this rain brings, and have a good day!

And he smiled, pulled himself back into the truck, and drove away.

The rain certainly isn’t getting him down.  Indeed, he has ample good vibes to share.

Which I happily accepted – and now get to give to others.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

