From 60 to 0

7:30 am, and the day was already off to a rough start.

Oy.

I got in the car, and started my chores for the day.  First gasoline, then groceries.  The wild wind at the petrol pump smacked my hair around like crazy; but the fresh air also gave my lungs some life.  I breathed in deeply; then gave a BIG ol’ sigh out.  And again.  And again.

Okay, slightly better.

I made my way to the grocery store, and stopped straight away at the coffee counter.  May I please have a large, iced glass of goodness?  I need it.

I received my beverage, plus a genuine smile – the latter offered absolutely free of charge.

Nice.  A little more better.

I walked to the other side of the store, selected a cart, and made my way to the greeting card section.  I wanted to pick up a “thinking of you” note for my grandfather.  (It’s been a while since I wrote him, and usually he likes hearing from me.)

I started half-heartedly skimming over the cards, then stopped.  In the moment that followed, I actively chose to focus on the task before me.  Stef, take your time.  Look over as many cards as you need to until you find the “right” one.  Drink your beverage while you do this, and just r-e-l-a-x.  Enjoy this moment.  Okay?

Got it.

As soon as I allowed myself to smile at the silly cards, and chuckle at the funny cards, and enjoy the scenic cards, my demeanor changed.

I entered the present moment.  And I shifted to happy.

And it feels really, really good.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

