Royale with cheese

I wore a dress to work today – which was a mistake. The outfit was cute, but not very warm; and by the time 2:30 pm came around, I had been cold for the past four hours, and couldn’t take it any longer.

I went outside, and took a 10 minute walk in the sunshine to warm up. As I was making my way down the street, my path crossed that of two rather large black men. They were probably in their late 30s, wearing jeans, tshirts, and dark sunglasses, and seemed to be engaged in a rather intense conversation. As I approached, I started to hear a snippet of their exchange:

Man 1: “…Little Bo Peep.”
Man 2: “She the one with the umbrella?”
Man 1: “Yeah.”
(Slight pause.)
Man 2: “I thought that was Mother Goose.”
Man 1: “Naw man! Mother Goose had a hat. Bo Peep had the umbrella.”
(Slight pause.)
Man 2: “Naw… Bo Peep had a cane, right? ‘Cause she had to herd them sheep. A cane ain’t the same as no umbrella.”
Man 1 (irritated tone): “Well then who had the damn umbrella?”

By this point, we had all fully passed one another, and I could no longer hear their discussion.

And as soon as they got out of ear shot, I laughed out loud. Not the topic of conversation I had expected from such two imposing-looking men; and so funny to me that they were engaging in it with such intensity, seriousness, and above all, sincerity.

[And for the record, I think it was Mary Poppins who had the umbrella.]

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Royale with cheese

  1. Julie says:

    Hilarious!

    Like

  2. Katie says:

    Too funny. LOL

    Like

  3. jodi says:

    that is awesome. i love overhearing unexpected conversations.

    i was walking around midtown one day at lunch and passed by three guys in shirts & ties on their lunch break. they were probably late 20s/early 30s. the only thing i heard was one of the guys say, “so, i was watching house hunters international last night . . .” so great.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Jodi, thanks for reading, and for replying! I appreciate it; and love hearing snippets of random conversations – even second-hand. 🙂

      Like

  4. bendedspoon says:

    ahaha
    if men are talking about boo beep & mother goose
    what could the women are talking about?
    could be serious matters
    🙂

    Like

  5. Kraig says:

    Oh my gosh! That is too funny! I love working downtown. Never a dull moment.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

