Travel snippets

4:29 am.  I’m sitting in an airport shuttle van with two other people – the driver, and a man in his mid 40s/early 50s.  We are stopped at a red light on a vacant downtown Seattle street, and we are silent.  It’s quite nice, actually: dark, calm, the engine humming gently, a light smell of mint from the driver’s gum – all of it soothes me into a rather peaceful state.

A second later, a car pulls up along side the van in the next lane over.  I can’t see the driver, but I can certainly hear his music: reminiscent of a hair/metal band combo of the 80s/90s.  (Think loud screams mingled with overdrive bass and a frenetic, pounding quality.)  The very loud tunes now occupy the air; and the contrast of the “before-and-after” state, coupled with the absurdity of this music residing in a shuttle van occupied by business people, causes me to grin.  So this is how today is going to be?  Oh hell yeah – bring it!  : )

4:56 am.  An airline ticket counter agent is milling about the check-in area, stating, “If you don’t yet have a boarding pass, unfortunately you won’t be able to get through security.  But, the good news is,” she pauses, then resumes in a sing-song voice, “I can get you one!”  She smiles broadly at anyone who will look at her.  I smile back.

5:23 am.  I just selected a variety of breakfast items, and am precariously balancing my coat, bag, purse, and food while trying to free my wallet to pay.  As I extract my credit card, the teenage attendant behind the counter wordlessly puts my items into a bag – along with the appropriate utensils, condiments, and napkins.  She hands it to me with a smile, and tells me, “You should be all set.”

You bet I am.  Not yet 5:30 in the morning, and I’ve already experienced three different moments of unexpected delight.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel snippets

  1. jodi says:

    were you by any chance flying continental? i have a friend who works at SEA-TAC and i can picture her being this chipper.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

