A tip of the cap

My parents’ house is down the road from a very large senior citizen development, so on my walk this morning I passed by several elderly people.  When various individuals saw me, most of them smiled and said a brief “Hello”; but one older man was a bit different.  He looked like he was recovering from a stroke: he walked with an unsteady gait, and appeared to have partial facial paralysis. When I approached, I smiled my usual on-a-walk smile; but instead of a brief smile back, the man stopped walking, struggled to lift his arm up to his hat, yet successfully tapped the brim with his first two fingers before the hand fell back by his side. Pleased, he then raised the left side of his mouth into a smile, and exclaimed, “Good morning!” before resuming his walk.

His physical abilities may be diminished, but clearly his spirit is alive and well. Always a gentleman – I love it!

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A tip of the cap

  1. JaxieCat says:

    Stef- This post brings tears of joy to my face. Thanks for sharing tidbits of your life with me, a portion of your audience. -Jaxie

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

