Thankful

Many things caused me to smile on this very American holiday.  Here are just a few of them:

– hearing stories told boisterously and enthusiastically by my 86-year-old grandfather
– watching my sister serve as an amazing hostess to a house full of people 
– discussing meaningful topics with my uncle; and his sincere, genuine interest in exploring them
– checking in on my sweetie intermittently throughout the day, and finding him completely at ease with various family members every single time
– learning more about the adult person my “little” cousin has now become
– eating delicious food (made from scratch!) by my brother-in-law
– gaining new insights from my aunt’s point of view   
– witnessing how exceptionally well my mom performs the art of inclusion (and making mental notes so that I might emulate some of her positive behaviors)
– feeling the quiet-but-attentive presence of my dad – and delighting in how similar I am to him

And this is by no means an all-inclusive list.

Seriously, how lucky am I?  

(Answer: Ridiculously lucky.)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful

  1. You are very lucky! It sounds like an amazing day. Due to work, we are kept away from extended family during the holidays. It is memories like these that make me miss my family the most this time of year. I am so glad you were able to have the time together!

    Best Wishes,
    Tara

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Tara, thank you so much for stopping by, reading, and commenting – I really appreciate it! What do you do for work? Were you able to spend the day with your immediate family? I hope you were able to experience *some* enjoyment in the day; everyone one deserves to feel included and happy.

      I wish you well,
      Stef

      Like

  2. Stef,
    It was my pleasure commenting. It was a lovely post! My husband’s job is what keeps us away. He is in the military. Yes, we were blessed this year to spend it with each other. Other than that, it was not a festive day. We need to begin a tradition to make it special in our own way!

    Tara

    Like

  3. bendedspoon says:

    very very lucky to have such family! 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

