Simple, simple things

Much of this past week was spent relaxing (and recovering/recuperating, but we’ll gloss over that for now), so it makes sense that today was largely a day of putting my nose to the grindstone, and “GSD” (as my work mates like to say – “Gettin’ Stuff Done”). So honestly, I don’t have much by way of a significantly delightful smile event to share with you all today; and yet, I want to post something, because I truly believe that every single day is a gift, and I want to appreciate them all.  So…here’s what transpired for me today that did cause me to smile…

“New” is usually seen as special.  New babies, certainly; new cars, sure; even new restaurants to try.  But I can’t create/drive/dine out every day.  However, sometimes even very little “new” things are cause for a brief moment of celebration; a small grin in an otherwise mundane day.

Today I got to be the one to first use the new tub of butter.  Sometimes I get to be the one to dip my knife into a new jar of peanut butter, or open a new box of crackers, or get the first bite of ice cream from the tub.  These events certainly aren’t the same as traveling to a new vacation spot, or landing a new job; but honestly, they are moments of simple joy.  And the fact that I have access to food – much less brand-new, pristinely packaged food – well, that really *is* something worthy of a smile.

So there you go.  Lame?  Trivial?  Anticlimactic?  Perhaps.  But honest?  Yup.

😉

Stef

Addendum: As I was writing this post, I paused mid-stream to pop onto Facebook for my daily check-in.  As I skimmed the various items, one of my friends gently requested that I supply the smile post for today; and THAT made me beam.  I adore that people enjoy and appreciate the items I write here.  Thank you all for supporting me; I hope you all smile during this exchange as much as I do.  I truly value you all.  🙂

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple, simple things

  1. Nithya says:

    Made my day 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

