Oh Jeeves…

Early this morning I saw a colleague and friend in the hallway at work, so I made conversation by asking her about her commute in.  (The roads were a little icy in some areas of the city; and when the weather becomes poor, traffic can get quite ugly very quickly.)  I then remembered that she takes the bus in to work, so I asked her if she had an uneventful ride.  (She has reported many crazy, wild, funny, wacky stories from her bus route over this past year.)  She replied that being on the bus today was very easy; and that she likes riding the bus most days anyway, largely because she gets to read during her trip to and from work.

She then shared, “I think of riding the bus as having a driver.  I just wish all of the other people would get out of my car.”

Her matter-of-fact expression contrasted beautifully with the humor of that statement; and I laughed.  An authentic, witty smile-worthy comment before 7 am; what a terrific way to begin the day.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh Jeeves…

  1. Katie says:

    That’s too cute, “I think of riding the bus as having a driver. I just wish all of the other people would get out of my car.”

    I loved riding the express bus from Woodbury to d.town Mpls. 😉

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Now you get to ride the bus in LA if you’d like… Have you done it yet? I bet you’d have some stories to share! 🙂

      Like

      • Katie says:

        Hi Stef,

        (This is my first reply to a reply on your blog… forgive me if there were others but I didn’t think come back to previous posts until now.)

        I haven’t taken the bus into L.A. from our house yet. Although only 30 miles, it would take almost 1 hr and 45 min. one way. I’ve had enough interest to have at least checked it out, but was disappointed to learn that it wouldn’t be much of a time-saver. Fortunately, I don’t have much reason to go to d.town Los Angeles on a regular basis. 😉

        Like

  2. Katie, you picked the quote in the post. It made me smile. Another great post Stef. The snow is so pretty. It is amazing how much more enjoyment I get out of seeing snow now that I no longer have to drive in it nor deal with the freezing temps! Stay warm!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Tara, I agree – when I don’t have to be in the inclement weather, navigating slippery streets, the beauty of the snow is terrific. But when I’m in the car and the brakes are refusing to stop the two tons of steel I find myself strapped in to – well, a little different story. 🙂

      But I’m a hearty, resilient gal; a long Thermafleece coat, wool socks, hot tea or coffee, and I’m good to go. 😉

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

