Grocery gratitude

A mere 30 minutes in the grocery store today yielded four different opportunities for gratitude:

  1. Fruits and vegetables comprise a good portion of my daily diet; yet at this time of the year fresh options can be slim.  Starting to get a little tired of apples and pears, I hoped the store might offer some additional choices – and it did!  Blueberries, asian pears, and grapes now inhabit the crisper drawer of our fridge; I’m grateful that I live in a place where I have access to variety, and that I can afford to purchase fresh fruit.
  2. In the checkout line, I waited behind an older woman who had a pretty severe case of kyphosis (rounded back); and immediately I felt grateful that I could correct my own posture, and stand tall and strong.  (Which I did.)
  3. As I was leaving the store, I struggled to get my cart through the non-automatic doors.  After a little maneuvering, pushing, and pulling, I cleared the first set of doors; and as I was about to start wrestling with the second set, an older gentleman called from behind me, “If you wait a second, I’ll get the door for you.”  I looked back, and saw him hurrying to help me.  I smiled, and thanked him.  He said, “That’s one thing I can’t stand – seeing a young lady struggle.”  Awww… so sweet!
  4. Having successfully cleared the doors, I pushed the cart to my car; and as I was unloading the basket, I realized that the grocery bags were kind of heavy.  As I began to pay more attention to the task at hand, I became aware of how much twisting, bending, lifting, and general physical maneuvering I was doing.  Such a seemingly “simple” task as getting groceries actually requires a lot of energy, and some decent mobility – and I have those things in abundance.  I took a second to recognize and appreciate my healthy body; truly, what a gift excellent physical health is.

A quick trip to complete a mundane task took on new meaning today.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

