I like chocolate Santa Claus?

This past weekend I downloaded an album of free Christmas music.  This afternoon as I was driving home from work, I popped the newly-made CD in my car and had a listen.  Overall I really liked the variety of the songs, and found myself to bopping to quite a few of them.  But there was one song in particular that gave me a bit of pause.

You know how some people misunderstand song lyrics, and end up singing phrases that make little sense?  If you don’t know someone like that, you do now.  Yup, I’m that girl.  Usually I know when I’m not hearing what the artist is really singing/rapping (‘cause, like I said, the words just don’t make sense!), but try as I might, I usually can’t figure out what the lyrics are supposed to be until I read them, or until someone speaks them to me.  I don’t know what’s wrong with my hearing (or my musical processing), but it is what it is.  While this is sometimes annoying to me, it can also be rather amusing – as was the case today.

The first song in the collection was a very techno tune, and the “voice” of the song was computerized (think Stephen Hawking’s voice generator) – which made it even more difficult for me to understand.  During the first pass of the song, here is what I heard the lyrics to be:

I like chocolate Santa Claus, I like chocolate Santa Claus, I like chocolate Santa Claus, I like chocolate Santa. (x2)

The chocolate Santa’s going to wreck your body, wreck your body body…
The chocolate Santa knows you hate your body, kicks your body now…
The chocolate Santa’s going to wreck your body, wreck your body body…
The chocolate Santa’s going to trash your party, trash your Christmas party…

What the heck?!  What kind of an evil Santa IS this?!  Clearly, I hadn’t heard the lyrics correctly; but how far off could I be?!

So I listened to the song six more times (literally), until I finally figured out the right words.  Here are what the lyrics really are (I think):

Electronic Santa Claus, the electronic Santa Claus, the electronic Santa Claus, the electronic Santa (x2)

Electronic Santa’s going to rock your party, rock your party party
Electronic Santa’s going knows you like to party, like to party now
Electronic Santa’s going to rock your party, rock your party party
Electronic Santa’s going to crash your party, crash your Christmas party…

Okay, this makes a little more sense; but it’s still strange…. And then I saw the commercial from which this song came.

And now it kind of comes together.  It’s still a little on the bizarre side, but I kind of like it.  I’m just not sure which version I like more: crazy electronic Santa, or evil chocolate Santa.  : )

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I like chocolate Santa Claus?

  1. Seida Bacon says:

    I found your post as I was searching for the lyrics to this song, too! I think your second set of lyrics is right; but being a chocoholic, I like your first set better!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks for stopping by the blog, and for posting a comment! I really appreciate it. Yes, I think the second set of lyrics is the correct version; but the first set makes me laugh. 🙂

      Like

  2. trashy mcjunkbox says:

    dude
    i love that you had the chutzpah to share your senior moment about the chocolate lyrics. funny stuff. it’s great when people are honest about their retarded moments. we all have them. bravo.

    i’m sorry to report, however, that even after 6 listens, you still got a few important lyrics dead wrong, including:
    “rock your BODY”
    and “NICE OR NAUGHTY”

    my revised version below:

    Electronic Santa Claus, the electronic Santa Claus, the electronic Santa Claus, the electronic Santa (x2)
    Electronic Santa’s going to rock your body, rock your body, body.
    Electronic Santa knows if you’ve been nice or naughty. Nice or naughty, naughty.

    Electronic Santa’s going to rock your body, rock your body, body.
    Electronic Santa’s going to crash your Christmas party, crash your Christmas party…

    happy holidays!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Trashy,

      So I guess I wasn’t that far off on the “body” part – just the “nice or naughty” part. Thanks for the corrections! Like I said, until I read the lyrics, or until someone tells them to me, I’m usually off the mark. This is just more evidence of that. 😉

      Thanks for the comment! Happy holidays to you, too.

      Stef

      Like

  3. rutheh says:

    I am with the chocolate version for sure!! Fun.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I think what I love most about this post is the comment I received from “trashy mcjunkbox” – to me, that was just the icing on the cake, making this whole surreal experience completely perfect. 🙂

      Like

  4. This was too funny. Somehow, my wife’s iPod got several Christmas songs on it from where we have no clue. The kids and I were dancing like robots while singing “I like Chocolate Santa Claus”. Similar to you above, I had to find out the real words, but I just Googled it. You are the top hit. Thanks for the clarification.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Michael, thank you for leaving a comment; I really appreciate it! I still smile every time I hear this song or see the commercial…and I’m glad I’m not alone in my confusion. 🙂 I had no idea I was the top hit on Google; wow! I guess that is my 5 minutes of fame. 😉 Thanks for letting me know! (Truly – I appreciate it.) 🙂

      Like

  5. Hanna says:

    Hahah… 😀 Good one.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

