Family giggles

My sweetie makes me laugh on a nearly daily basis.  He’s such a smart, witty, and creative fellow; and yet he has a silly streak, too. The combination results in regular smiles and giggles from me, and sometimes even outright guffaws.  He’s frequently coming up with new, inventive ways to be both clever and wacky – and I delight in being the recipient of his interesting creations.

By contrast, I am the more “serious” one in our marriage.  This isn’t good or bad – it just is.  My nature is just more reserved, more focused, more intense, more pensive.  Please don’t misunderstand – I adore humor; it’s just that levity isn’t my natural tendency.

That being said, I do have my moments of silliness and play (and I am honestly trying to learn how to have more of them); and tonight, the tables turned a little from their usual state, and I made my sweetie giggle.

It was awesome to see him grin and chuckle at my antics; it totally made my night.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Family giggles

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Know just what you mean: been there, live this. Did you ever read the Grimm fairy tale of the Princess who couldn’t laugh?
    Loved your John Cleese silly walks. You do find the best things on the Web! Thanks for today’s smile, always needed. Judith

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Judith, no, I haven’t read that Grimm fairy tale. What’s it called? I suspect I could benefit from it…

      I’m very happy to hear this post helped you smile, too. Thank you so much for stopping by, and for commenting; you now made ME smile. 🙂

      Stef

      Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    It’s called — are you ready for this? The Princess who couldn’t laugh. (I think it was those Grimm brothers.)
    Her father offers half the kingdom (maybe all of it) and her hand in marriage to the prince who can make her laugh. Catch is, no laugh, head cut off. You know how fairy tales go …
    To me, though, it’s a parable. Lucky my guy came along and made me laugh and kept his head — and helps me keep mine. Still does, for 50 years, as of this year.
    I dedicated my second book to him: For Frank, because he makes me laugh.
    Well, did I get razzed! “‘You make me laugh!’ What kind of a dedication is that?????”
    But underneath I’m sure he knows what a very big deal it is for me.
    BTW, I love your blog — and so does he. 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      A very intuitive title; I’ll check out the story soon.

      Wow, 50 years with your guy?! That’s AWESOME! I just celebrated 9 years of marriage with my sweetie (we’ve been together for 12 years); and they only keep getting better. A good sign…

      I’m delighted both you and he like the blog. You flatterers. 😉

      Stef

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

