and joyful memories there.

This afternoon I was walking from one office building to another, and passed by an atrium where a pianist was playing a variety of holiday tunes.  Ah, spreading a little holiday cheer – how lovely!

As I got closer and could better discern the actual song she was playing, a wave of familiarity and comfort washed over me.  She was in the middle of “Christmas is Coming” by Vince Guaraldi – better known as “the Charlie Brown Christmas song”.

Growing up, my dad was an avid Peanuts fan – so as a family we watched the various Charlie Brown holiday specials each year.  As a kid, I didn’t really “get” the holiday specials; I was too emotionally sensitive to appreciate them.  I didn’t understand the bigger meaning that Charles Schultz was trying to impart via Charlie and crew; I just felt very sad when Charlie didn’t get the tree, the football, the girl.  And even though I felt mildly depressed after watching the shows (no lie), I sat through them because they were special to my dad – and my dad is deeply special to me.

Today, when I heard a mere five seconds of the Charlie Brown song, I was instantly taken back to my childhood; sitting by my dad, watching the holiday special, sensing the dark and cold outside, but feeling the warmth and love inside.  As I passed by the piano, I broke into a wide smile.

Peace out.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to and joyful memories there.

  1. Kraig says:

    What a great memory, thanks for sharing. I too am a huge Peanuts fan and lucky enough through the magic of DVDs to own all the holiday specials and watch them (even outside of the appropriate time of year) with Athena. I just hope someday she will react with the same warmth and love in her heart when she hears those songs that you do. 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

