Parsva Bakasana

This afternoon I got to go to a yoga session – and it felt wonderful.  It’s been several weeks since I’ve been to a session (to clarify, over the past few weeks I’ve been to many yoga classes where I’ve acquired intellectual knowledge, but I haven’t been to a yoga session where I’ve gotten to move and physically push myself since, well, gosh, probably mid-November.  Yikes!…), and getting back into the warm studio, feeling my muscles stretch and lengthen (and tremble from time to time) – ahhhhh.  That’s the good stuff.

The yoga session alone gave me reason to smile today – but it gets better.  About three-quarters of the way through the class the teacher had us attempt a very difficult pose: side crow.  To get into this pose one has to possess both strength and balance in spades – and these are my short suits in yoga.  I’m flexible all day long, and while my strength and balance are coming, they are still lagging by quite a distance.  But I never opt out of a move in a yoga class.  Sure, often times I try the more challenging poses  and I stumble (and sometimes I even outright tumble) – but I at least try them, even if I do end up on my butt (or my face).  This afternoon I was hoping for the best, but bracing for the not-best – when suddenly, I realized I was doing it.  I was doing side crow!

I even sustained the pose for a few seconds before having to release back to the ground – which is awesome icing on the cake.  Go yoga!

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parsva Bakasana

  1. Wow! That is incredible. Good for you Stef. I cannot imagine my body ever doing that…even before everything?!? I am impressed!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Oh, people are surprised at what their bodies can do with some regular practice and knowledgeable teachers. Trust me, I wasn’t able to do anything close to this even a year ago. 🙂

      Stef

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

