I’d like to go…

At the post office today, I had just finished mailing a package when a couple walked in, carrying a two-year-old boy.  As I was headed out the door, I heard the woman at the desk tell the couple, “I’m sorry, we don’t do passports on Saturday.”  The couple looked at one another, sighed, and walked out the door behind me.

As I was walking to my car, I heard the dad say (mostly to himself), “At this rate, we’re never going to get to take you out of the country.”  The little boy, not understanding that the comment wasn’t really directed towards him, said in a tiny two-year-old pleading tone, “But I wan’ to weave da contwry!”  The dad smiled, realizing that the boy was responding to the previous comment, and teasingly said, “I don’t know, buddy; it seems like it’s going to be tough to get your paperwork all lined up.”  The little boy then declared, “But I wan’ ta go to Meh-hee-co wif you and Mommy. It too cawd here!” and again he looked pleadingly at his dad.

The dad laughed, the mom laughed, and I laughed.  Such sincerity and honesty.  From the mouths of babes…

Stef

P.S.  After the boy’s second comment, and the clear concern in his little voice, the dad reassured the boy and told him that yes, they would take him along when the family went to Mexico.  He didn’t need to worry.

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’d like to go…

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Sometimes I wonder, Stef, if more interesting and unexpected things really just happen to you — or is that you pay more attention than most of us? I suspect it’s the latter —

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Honestly, I think it’s the latter. It’s only when I committed to paying more attention (so that I could “find” a smile-worthy event every day) that I started noticing all of the amazing, cool, beautiful things going on around me. And most days, I have several “smile-worthy” items I could post, and I have to pick just one. It’s kind of wild…

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

