Notes from my moms

This evening I returned home from a very fine day.  I had several good meetings, many pleasant interactions with people I like and appreciate, a few different meaningful conversations with people I respect, received a few special notes from people who sent me some information just because they thought I would like it and wanted to share it with me… it was all very lovely.

Then I came home, fired up my computer, and saw two different notes from two different (and important!) women in my life: my mom, and my husband’s mom.

The email from my husband’s mom made me chuckle; she is a witty lady, and in her message she shared a few of her own “smile kiddo” moments with me; and they cracked me up!  Reading her note, I was filled with a sense of levity; I could feel the ease and humor in her day.  Which I love.  And which I love that she loves.

Reading the email from my mom made me smile, and filled me with a sense of gratitude, acceptance, and deep peace.  I love my parents fiercely; and as I’m growing older (dare I say I’m now an “adult”) I’m able to relate to them on a different level, in a different capacity.  I always knew my parents were amazing (even when I was a teeny, tiny tot); but now, I’m getting to truly appreciate the complexities, layers, nuances, and subtleties that help define them not only as “my parents”, but as people in their own right.  As I’m getting to learn more and more about these people that are my parents, I only become more and more impressed by them, and in love with them.

As I sat in my study this evening, and held these two different women in my mind and in my heart, I felt a profound sense of appreciation for them, and a deep sense of… of…of grace.

Grace has many different meanings: charm, loveliness, mercy, forgiveness, beauty, blessing, and prayer. I can think of no better single word to describe these women; and I embrace how wildly lucky I am to have them both in my life.

I love you moms.


Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Notes from my moms

  1. bendedspoon says:

    I love your heart Stef!
    🙂

    Like

  2. Dodie says:

    Thank you.

    Like

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    As I was reading this post, the word “grace” was highlighted in my mind. And then — that was where you went with it.
    Grace upon grace, Stef: not only are you blessed in this way, but you are blessed to realize it. And savor it.
    Wonderful post, wonderful moms, wonderful daughter.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

