A reminder behind glass

Walking in to work today, I was a little bit distracted.  Snow had been falling for a few hours, and I was on my phone checking to see what the weather people were predicting the total accumulation might be.  (Basically, I was trying to gain some sense of “control” around a situation [the weather, the drive home, time] over which I had absolutely no control, instead of letting go and simply accepting whatever was to come.)  Anyway – I’m walking, head down, eyes narrow (so, mind narrow), when I pass by a display case.

I walk by this display case every work day.  It belongs to a local vocational college, and usually it showcases student work.  This morning, though, the space held something rather different:

The message behind the glass pulled me from my reverie, and caused me to pause (literally; I had to stop walking so I could snap a photo).  In that moment of stopping, my mind was pulled out of my tiny little “concerns”, and I got to re-focus and remember more important things in my life.

I’m grateful that I never smoked, I’m lucky that my body is able to be physically active on a daily basis, I’m privileged that I can afford healthy food, and I’m honored to have at least 5 friends with whom I can share a message.  (And, it’s terrific that I look awesome when I wear red.)  🙂

Snow, schmo.  Tiny little flakes, you are a small inconvenience in my wonderfully blessed life.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A reminder behind glass

  1. Lia says:

    Such a great attitude and lovely post, Stef! I’m looking forward to reading through more of your happy blog.

    Like

  2. Stef,

    Your comment, “it’s terrific that I look awesome when I wear red” cracked me up. It was unexpected and so wonderful! What a great thing to say about yourself. That alone brought an instant smile to my face while reading this post.

    I hope you are staying warm and safe with all the white stuff that has covered so much of our country.

    Tara

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Tara – it’s funny, I had a similar reaction to your post about seeing the pretty lady on your husband’s arm, and about how you are “usually quite pleased at her quiet beauty”. That honest assessment made *me* smile; I appreciate the days when I see myself in that light, too.

      Stef

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

