Changing tastes, changing perspective

For many, many years, I have been claiming that my favorite flowers are gerbera daisies.

I think I may be changing my mind.

Last week I purchased flowers for my sweetie; and the ones that looked the best from the selection available was a bunch of white tulips.  So I purchased them, brought them home, put them in a vase, and they found their way to our dining room table.

Over the past several days, I have been struck by how lovely these simple flowers look.  The tulips are “just” white – not bright and colorful like gerbera daisies.  The tulips are structured – not open like gerbera daisies.  The tulips are reserved – not free like gerbera daisies.  And yet, my heart, my eyes, and my mouth all smile every time I see the vase on our table.

Then tonight, I became aware of something more as I gazed at the tulips.  The flowers, set on the dark wood of our dining room table, contrasted with the bright curtains and bold colors we chose for our walls, made our house feel like my home.  In a transformational moment, I realized that I love the unique choices my sweetie and I have made to take what was once someone else’s house and evolve it into our home.

We don’t have the largest floor plan.  We don’t have the trendiest décor.  We don’t have expensive furnishings.  But we don’t need any of that.  We like what we have; it’s us. It fits.

Gerbera daisies were what I thought I should like: they’re colorful, and jubilant, and outgoing, and vivacious – but they’re just not fully me.  Tulips are a bit more plain: reserved, structured, aloof – but still beautiful.  Still wonderful.  And in perfect harmony with me.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Changing tastes, changing perspective

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Very interesting post.
    The tone of your blog posts very often is gerbera daisies. (And I LOVE gerbera daisies.) It will be interesting to see, under the influence of those quieter, lovely, reserved, somewhat aloof tulips — what emerges on Smile, Kiddo.
    More facets to the jewel that is Stef —

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thank you for your comment – it (you) caused me to pause and reflect. In my “real” (offline) life, most people would likely say that I am quiet, calm, aloof… kind and sincere, but reserved, perhaps even a bit “guarded”. But in this online space, I (mostly) refrain from censoring myself, and just express whatever my heart feels; which, perhaps, is more of the wild and carefree and joyous sentiment than what I “allow” to come out in the face-to-face world.

      Hmm… interesting. And then, my Buddhist training (infant as it is) crops up, and says, “Wait; must the world be divided? Can’t the two co-exist? Why must a choice between two polarities be made?”

      So – perhaps I shall claim that both gerbera daisies AND tulips are my favorite flowers. In fact, maybe I shall claim that ALL flowers are my favorites. And let’s go even one step further – perhaps I shall assert that all *things* are my “favorite” things…

      Like I said, you made me think. Thank you for that!

      Like

      • Touch2Touch says:

        I can certainly relate to this.
        There is great freedom for the spontaneous, joyful, playful self on the web — if we grasp it firmly (like nettles?).
        This is a big struggle for me, the self-censorship. But often the playful person wins.
        Buddhist/not-Buddhist, no duality! Claim it all, Stef —-

        Like

  2. Tulips are my favorite flowers. I love how simple the are, but how beautiful. I’m glad they made you smile 🙂

    Like

  3. Theresa says:

    Nice post, tuilips & daffodils are my favorite flowers 🙂

    Like

  4. Lia says:

    Stef, I love this post. I also really enjoyed your response to Touch2Touch’s insightful comment… it’s interesting how we come across through our ‘online’ presence as well as through our ‘offline’ presence and if they’re similar or different (and why that might be the case). Good things to ponder, as are flowers. 🙂

    Like

  5. JaxieCat says:

    In the store yesterday there was a rack with the up and coming blooming bulbs. I looked to see if the variegated pansies or dinner plate dahlias were there…neither were. As sad as that sounds, I am glad cause I had only enough money for the Fage Greek Yogurt and some fruit to go with it. I loved your posts this week…just catching up.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thank you for all of your comments; I appreciate them. Isn’t it interesting how sometimes *not* having something available to us is actually a gift? 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

