Humor heals

I am on the mend; and while I’m still only up to about 70% health today, it’s a big improvement from the feeble 40% or so I was at yesterday.  Yay progress!

Today I had enough energy to sit in a recliner and flip through magazines; and I saw this ad in one of the catalogs I perused:

As a kid, my family always referred to this style of shoe as “flip flops”; to us, “thongs” were a type of rather uncomfortable underwear.

So when I saw this line of copy, I literally laughed out loud.

Juvenile?  Perhaps.  But it felt wonderful to smile, and to laugh.  (Even if the laughter turned into a small coughing fit.)  I forgot how much I missed smiling; I forgot how desperately I need happiness in my life every single day.

Perhaps a bit of childish humor is just what the doctor ordered.

It feels good to be getting back to a joyful self.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Humor heals

  1. So glad that you are finding your way back to good health! I hope that tomorrow is even better for you.
    Laughing always helps. It is very good that you found this simple joy today! I hope you discover many more tomorrow!

    Tara

    Like

  2. Jonathan says:

    Glad to hear you’re on the mend. It’s a drag being ill:(

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks Jonathan. It *is* a drag being ill. However, a cold like this one does renew my gratitude for my usually-good health. Thank you usually-strong immune system! I will try to not stress you out so much in the future.

      Like

  3. JaxieCat says:

    Thanks for the smile, kiddo!! Literally!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

