Climate choices

I had many reasons to smile today:

  • My sweetie cleared our driveway last night after he got home from a very late sports outing. Though it was past 11:30 pm when he arrived back at our home, he still took the time and effort to fire up the snow blower, and clear the 8+ inches of snow we had received from our driveway.
  • An anonymous neighbor cleared a less-than-perfect-but-still-incredibly-helpful path out of our subdivision to the main city road. Had this kind soul not taken this very considerate action, I likely would not have been able to drive to work this morning (until the city snow plow came through, at least – which could have been well into the afternoon).
  • Many adults had the day off of work today; so rush hour  traffic was very reasonable and manageable, in spite of the poor weather and spotty road conditions.
  • Kids had the day off of school today; so they all got to play in the continued snowfall instead of being cooped up in school. On a super-snowy day like today, there is nothing better than being a kid and getting to play in it for as long as you want!

So yes, we got a lot of snow. And yes, it was warm last week, and now it’s not. And yes, movement and living logistics can become more difficult as the weather becomes more challenging. But all of these factors just give more opportunities for good things to happen – and for people to find some joy in it all.

The view from my living room window at dusk. Pretty, no? 😉

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Climate choices

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Ooooh, très romantic view.

    Like

  2. carlaat says:

    The snow sounds wonderful – if you get to play in it all day and then come in for hot chocolate! I think hot chocolate weather may be over in New Orleans . . .

    Like

  3. Theresa says:

    Very nice post to read after my blah day…we are currently in the midst of yet another snow & ice storm here. Your view photo has encouraged me to look at the beauty of it instead of the negatives 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I just read your post; wow, that was one heck of an experience. I’m glad to hear your kids are okay now.

      I’m sorry to hear about your blah day; during the winter storms I easily get that way too. (In fact, I was like that on Sunday.) That’s one of the many reasons I maintain this blog; it helps me get out of my funk and see some of the beauty in it all – even if only for a few moments in my day. Those are great moments. 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

