Happy hour

Recently one of my colleagues accepted a new role (still within our company), so tonight my work team went to happy hour to celebrate our peer – and I had a wonderful time.  I get along well with all of the individuals on my work team, but I don’t always have a lot of extra time during standard business hours to spend chatting and socializing with each one.  So having the opportunity this evening to have fun and be silly with people I enjoy was a genuine treat – and oh boy, did we ever have fun and be silly.  🙂  This evening there was singing, chair-dancing, cheering, and lots of laughing.  There was also encouragement, kindness, optimism, and friendly affection.  The evening had a very positive energy of brightness and lightness to it; I think I smiled the entire 90 minutes I was at the bar.

There were too many delightful encounters to relay them all here; but I think this one example conveys the tone and tenor of the evening quite nicely:  The server asked one of us if she would like an alcoholic drink.  Our work mate looked briefly looked at the beverage menu, then replied to the server, “You know, I’m going to church after this, so I better just stick with a soda.”  The server then responded in a teasing voice, “But wine goes with church!”  The server then smiled, and left to get the non-alcoholic refreshment.

I’m lucky that I get to work with people I genuinely enjoy; and I’m grateful that they are all so willing to share their time.  Tonight was wonderful.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy hour

  1. Theresa says:

    Sounds like a very nice evening, and I absolutely love those star lights/lamps!

    Like

  2. Jenny says:

    Thanks so much for making the trip downtown on your day off Stef! It made my day that you came in to celebrate with the team, and I know Brooke was really touched!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

