Appreciation for accommodation, then alteration

I had a whirlwind of a day today.  And I’ll spare you all the details of everything that occurred (basically it was just a busy day at work coupled with a misunderstanding after work), but by the time I got home this evening it was late, and I was tired, irritated, and hungry.  Not a good combination of sensations at all.

My husband was already in the house when I arrived, and he could easily tell that I was both crabby and upset.  And he let me have my space – but then checked in on me after a small amount of time had passed.  He let me vent my frustrations – but then nudged me to get over it all once I had shared them.  He gave me hugs – but equally importantly he joked with me, and played with me, and made me laugh and smile.

I could have spent the entire evening just pissed off.  I could have spent a lot of time tonight alternating between stewing and fretting.  But in large part due to my husband, right now I’m smiling, and letting go of things as best I can, and focusing on the gratitude I feel to have such a wonderful man in my life.  (And to have such a wonderful  life in general.)

So goodnight everyone, I’m off.  I want to spend the remainder of my evening with my sweetie.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Appreciation for accommodation, then alteration

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    “He gave me hugs – but equally importantly he joked with me, and played with me, and made me laugh and smile.”
    We celebrated 51 years of marriage yesterday, Frank and I, and I’ll let you in on the secret: EXACTLY WHAT YOU WROTE right here.
    I’m essentially serious too, and that has its virtues. But for the long run, your sweetie’s got what it takes!
    Lucky you — lucky him!

    Like

  2. Love is a many splendored thing…and so’s a good man. 😉

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

