Gratitude list

Lest anyone thing I’m “perfect” (i.e., always calm, always content, always complacent), please let me assure you that I am not.  This morning I woke up from a night of disturbing dreams, and I still had a bit of residual crankiness in my attitude left over from the events of yesterday.  As I went about my morning routine (yoga, meditation), my demeanor seemed to get worse, not better.  Not yet 5 am, and already I’m in a funk?  Oh, so not good….

One powerful antidote I know to a foul mood is gratitude.  When I’m feeling slightly punky, I make myself write five gratitudes – and by the time I’ve finished, I’m usually “back on track” attitude-wise.  If my demeanor is moderately bad, I up the ante to 10 gratitudes.  When things are to the level of “seriously-Stef-get-over-yourself-already”, I make myself write a complete gratitude alphabet.

This morning called for a full-on A-to-Z gratitude list.  (And the challenge in all of these lists is that I can’t just write things I am generally grateful for; I have to experience each item of gratitude live before I can write it down.)  As I went throughout my day today, I kept adding to the list.  Now 7:30 in the evening, here is what I ended up with:

Americano
Brightness (sunlight outside)
Child (in the elevator at work)
Dishwasher
Eye contact
Flower shop
Guacamole
Humor
Instant messaging
Jewelry
Kindness
Laughter
Melting snow
Nylons
Officer
Puppet
Quiet
Recordings (DVR and CD)
Smart people
Tennis shoes
Upekkha
Vehicle
Warmth
XX chromosomes
Yes
Zebra (seriously – I read an article over dinner about zebras!)

As I created this list, I thought of many more items that just these 26; and every time I thought of another thing in my life to be grateful for, a small piece of the existing poor mood got chipped away, and slipped away.  I adore the power of this exercise.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Gratitude list

  1. Christine says:

    That is a terrific idea! Makes you think…

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Absolutely – and it makes me think differently; which is so often just what I need (and interestingly, sometimes the only thing I need) to end a glum mood.

      Like

  2. ristinw says:

    I should make one too ^0^
    I like your post, you have inspired me!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Oh wow, thank you for your comment! I’m glad you like it; and if you do make a gratitude list, I’d love to read/see it. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and for commenting!

      Like

  3. I always stop with 5 or 10. I never have thought of an “A-to-Z gratitude list”. I will have to try that next time I am in a serious mood. Thanks for the great tip!

    Tara

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Tara, you are most welcome! It works very well for me. And I sometimes do it during other times, too (like if I can’t sleep, or if I’m on a long flight or road trip and need a break or feel myself getting tense, etc.). It’s a multi-purpose tool. 🙂

      Like

  4. Theresa says:

    This is really a great idea, thanks 😀

    Like

  5. Pingback: Another gratitude list | Smile, kiddo.

  6. nrhatch says:

    Excellent idea . . . not the listing (which is often “lip service”) . . . but the paying attention to your day to ferret out the next letter of the alphabet.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Actively doing this throughout a difficult day usually helps me turn things around, or at least stop them from spiraling further down. Sometimes the bigger ‘trick’ is remembering to do it…

      Like

  7. Lisa Wields Words says:

    Visiting from Spirit Light’s the Way. This is a wonderful way to chip at that unwanted grumpiness and face every day with a positive attitude. Thank you for this

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Lisa, thank you so much for stopping by my blog, and for staying long enough to read and comment. 🙂 I truly appreciate it! I’m glad the alphabet method resonated with you; it does wonders for me.

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

