The impact of apparel

This morning when I arrived at the elementary school, I walked into the service center to make a few photocopies – and I saw one of the teachers wearing a prom dress.
Um, okay…?  I wasn’t quite sure what to make of that, but the other teachers in the area didn’t seem to take any notice, so…fine?  I guess?

Once I finished the preparations for my lesson, I walked down the hall – and saw a few girls (second grade students) wearing frilly dresses.  I didn’t think much of it; some younger girls like to “dress up” and wear holiday dresses on any ol’ random day, just because they can.  I smiled kindly at the girls, and entered the classroom where I volunteer.

As the kids started to enter and take their seats, I saw many girls were wearing frilly dresses – even some of the girls who usually live in jeans and t-shirts.  As students continued to trickle in, I then noticed that many of the boys were wearing ties.  What the heck is going on?

After a few moments of confusion, the teacher entered the classroom – and explained to me that today was “Fine Dining Day” at the school.  All of the students were encouraged to dress in attire appropriate for a “fine dining experience”.

Nearly all of the students in this class embraced the concept of Fine Dining Day, and truly went all-out to look their best.  One little girl who has worn jeans, a long-sleeve t-shirt topped with a short-sleeve t-shirt, and jeans every single day of the year to this point arrived in the class today wearing a calf-length navy blue-and-white poufy dress.  One little boy wore a tie, and felt so proud that he walked over to me before class began, and just pointed to his tie.  He couldn’t even form words – all he could do was beam, and smile broadly, and point to his tie.  When I smiled at him and said, “Wow, you look terrific today!” he finally spoke and excitedly said, “This is the tie I wore to my dad’s wedding!”  As students began to take their seats, I scanned the room and looked at each child – and did a double-take at the boy wearing a three-piece black suit with a pressed white shirt, red tie, and matching red, white, and black tennis shoes.

A question of recent ages is, “Do clothes make the man, or does the man make the clothes?”  Today, the clothes definitely made a difference for a group of eight-year-olds – as well as for this thirty-something woman.  : )

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The impact of apparel

  1. Christine says:

    Sometimes you feel as good as you look, right? It is interesting how clothes can cause a person to elevate their whole demeanor!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Absolutely. When I wear dresses or suits for work, I feel completely different then when I get home and change into sweatpants. Same goes for my yoga attire; and even the difference between summer and winter garb… every article of clothing has a “feeling” to it, which truly influences the way I feel, and the way I carry myself. Subtle, but true…

      Like

  2. Nice post. ^_^ Actually, I think different quotes apply to different people. Also depends what city and culture you’re in. Reading your post reminded me of a dialog from the movie Picture Perfect – “Dress for the job you want, not the one you have” 😉
    Usually, I am the kind of person who dresses more to her comfort but at the same time, also dresses for the occasion. I like to strike that balance between the two. But comfort definitely wins over pressure to be in style, en vogue, following the latest fashion trends.

    Like

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    What a charming idea and experience for everyone!

    Wherever do you find such perfect photos to finish them with, though? That little “couple” is just perfect.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Many of my pictures come from Google Images. I just do a search for what I’m looking for, and usually within 10 minutes or so I find just the “right” thing…

      Like

  4. Theresa says:

    Wow, what a great idea! With 5 kids I’ve seen the pajama days, twin days, hat days, etc but never this, that’s fantastic!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

