Better late than never.

I’m not the best gal to seek out when it comes to “current events”.  I choose to not watch the news, read the paper, listen to talk radio, or engage in most forms of media.  If I have to make a choice between being informed but angry and depressed, or being ignorant but happy, I’m going to select the latter.  And so I do.

Occasionally, though, media will deliver something that is simultaneously engaging and humorous, without also being dark or manipulative.  It is in these instances that I appreciate the creativity and levity that media can bring to people’s lives – if only people choose to generate and use this form in that way.  (But I digress before I get too preachy.)

Last Sunday the Academy Awards took place, and my sweetie watched the bulk of the program.  He laughed out loud at the opening sequence – but I missed it.  (I was at home, but in the other room, doing I-can’t-remember-what; it very well may have been writing.)  He wasn’t recording the show, so he couldn’t replay those few minutes for me – and we couldn’t find them online straight away.  Both he and I were disappointed; he wanted to share the humor with me, and I wanted to see it.

But, que sera, sera.  Such is life.  I got over it.  Moved on.  Didn’t think much more of it.

However.  This morning I woke up to find an email from my sweetie waiting for me in my Inbox.  Upon opening the note, I saw a link to the first five minutes of the Oscar’s program.  Cool!  I headed on over to YouTube, turned my computer speaker up, sat back – and laughed out loud.

If you happened to miss the program, too, I invite you to take 5 minutes and 38 seconds, and watch this very clever, witty, and well-done segment.  Afterwards, I’ll tell you which parts I liked “the best.”  But first – the introduction:

I thought this was very good all-around.  But I do have a few “favorite” moments; here they are, in Top 5 fashion:

5. The wink Anne Hathaway gives Colin Firth in The King’s Speech.
4. James Franco telling Jeff Bridges, “I loved you in Tron.”
3. James Franco spinning a dreidel as his totem.
2. Alec Baldwin drinking Ambien like a juice pouch.

And my #1 fav?  Can you guess?  Go ahead, it can be a fun little assessment of how well you know me.  Take a guess – I’ll wait.

(Me waiting patiently.)

Ready?  Here it is:

1. Minute 1:50, when James Franco says, “We all sound like each other and I don’t like being around this much negativity.”

Hilarious!  I began my day with multiple laughs, compliments of some good media, and my great sweetie.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Better late than never.

  1. Christine says:

    So cute – I enjoy when they insert the hosts into movie snips (and I always wonder how they do that and get it to match up so well!) I missed the beginning of the Academy Awards last week also, so now I’m back ‘in the loop’!

    Like

  2. While the rest of the their performance fell a little flat, the intro video was classic. The Colin Firth wink was amazing as was Morgan Freeman being the dream narrator. Over all the Oscars were fun! Good assessment!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks! There were definitely some places were the duo stumbled throughout the night; but I thought there were some bright spots, too. I do have to say I was more impressed by Anne throughout the evening than by James, though.

      Like

  3. Hanna says:

    I couldn’t open the video cuz it says its ‘private’. What does that mean? 😦

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Interesting…. Sometimes YouTube re-directs people to watch videos on their site versus other people’s spaces; so perhaps go directly to YouTube and see if you can watch it there? It should be public and viewable to everyone…

      Like

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    That link, clicked on, is blink and says This video is private. (What movie is that spoofing?:-)
    Anyway, caught it on youtube and thank you, would never have seen it otherwise. (I was probably reading a book that night, and so was Frank.)
    My two favorite moments: THE WINK — Anne and George; and — it didn’t even make your list! — The Dance of the Brown Duck, and Franco in a union suit.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      My sweetie really liked the brown duck – but that just didn’t do anything for me. (Though I *did* like that she was tap dancing in a ballet studio – classic.) 🙂

      Like

  5. Touch2Touch says:

    Of course I meant the link was blank, as my mind is at moments!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Your mind is just fine. 😉 As I mentioned in a post above: Sometimes YouTube re-directs people to watch videos on their site versus other people’s spaces; so perhaps that’s why the link showed up here as “blank”? At any rate, I’m glad you were able to see it.

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

