Sweater tights

Once upon a time, I used to not wear dresses. There are a whole host of reasons why, but most of them aren’t terribly interesting (or relevant for today’s post). The point is, I used to not wear dresses – but three years ago, I started dabbling in non-pant garments. Then two years ago, I picked up a dress habit in earnest. However, my leg-baring days were limited to the warmer months of the year, as I was simply unable to maintain a decent core internal body temperature in the winter months when the lower third of my body was exposed.

This past fall, I was chatting with a colleague about the change in seasons, and somehow we arrived at the topic of apparel; and I mentioned that I was already starting to miss my dresses. She then said the most unusual thing: “I love wearing dresses in the winter, because then I get to wear sweater tights.”

What? What in the world was she talking about?

She explained that, in addition to nylons and leggings, hosiery manufacturers make stockings called “sweater tights” – and they are just as the name implies. They are tights, but they are made of a heavier cotton material, and they insulate one’s legs very well; it feels as if the legs are wearing little tight-fitting sweaters.

Well, I’ll be darned… I had no idea such a thing existed! I went to the store that weekend, and purchased a pair of these sweater-tight thingys.

Last night it snowed a few inches, and this morning the air temperature was a brisk 20 degrees (F) as I drove to work – and yet, today I was able to wear a cute blouse-skirt combo and still be comfortable, because today I was wearing sweater tights.

Wearing dresses in the winter – how liberating! Feeling pretty, yet still staying warm; a wonderful blend of function and form; many excellent reasons to smile.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweater tights

  1. Christine says:

    Hooray for sweater tights! Not only are they great with skirts and dresses in the winter, but back in the late 80s/early 90s we used to rock the black sweater tights with black walking shorts all. the. time. Your post tonight actually made me giggle thinking about what fashion doofuses we were back then!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

