Did you see that?!

This morning I got to go to a yoga class, and participate as a “civilian” (versus a yoga-teacher-in-training): and I got to do some super-cool sh…stuff.  I wrote about all of the details on my yoga blog (so if you are really curious you can read the full-meal-deal there); in this space I will share with you what I think the coolest moment was.  Ready?  Here goes:

Towards the end of the class (after we were all warmed up and limber), the teacher had us go into wheel pose.

I’ve done this pose many times before, and am actually quite good at it.  It’s a pretty easy pose for me to do, and I really like to do it.  So, I’m hanging out in wheel, just smiling and having a fun time, when the teacher walks up to me, and asks, “Can you stand up from here?”

See, there is a move in ashtanga yoga where a person goes from standing, to leaning back, to bending back, to entering wheel.  Then, while in wheel pose the person gently rocks back and forth, and uses that slight momentum to begin to straighten up, then return to standing.  Like this:

I had never even attempted either of those transitions before, so (while still inverted and bent backwards), I answered the teacher with, “I don’t know.”  She said, “Well, let’s try it” – and she talked me through what to do, and she spotted me (i.e., held my low back for both support and protection), and I DID IT!  I transitioned from wheel, to stand, back down to wheel, and back up to stand.  Holy crap!

Now, I did all of this with support, so I’m not sure that I could do it on my own at this point.  But, I’m confident that with some practice and maybe a tiny bit more stability and strength, I will be able to do that transition by myself.  But today, just the fact that I could do it with a spot was friggin’ cool to me.  I love it!

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Did you see that?!

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    You can DO that??????
    I always suspected it.
    You are WONDER WOMAN. My eyes are big with admiration, Stef.

    Like

  2. Hanna says:

    I used to be in Wushu classes. The wheel pose I can do :). Love it too! But I haven’t done it for a long time so… (#in thinking mode)
    😀 Hahahah

    Like

  3. Wow. Incredible! Spot or no spot….being able to do that: WOW!

    It is very darn cool! Congrats on accomplishing this today.

    Tara

    Like

  4. OMG-You can do that?! 🙂
    With or without a spot it’s still VERY impressive.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

