Change is good

Today my usual Sunday routine at the yoga studio was disrupted.  The place where I usually eat lunch was occupied by two people having a working session/private discussion; so instead of spending the time before class dining by myself, I went to the main studio lounge area and had my meal there.

Shortly after I sat down, two fellow yoga students arrived in the area as well, and began eating their lunches.  Knowing whether to talk with people in the lounge can be tricky; some people love the peace and stillness of the studio, and don’t want to chat.  Others are bored and lonely, and would like nothing more than conversation with people who “get it”.  I ride the fence; some days I feel like being quiet and reflective, other days I desire that common understanding and feeling of kinship that fellow yogis can provide.  Today I wasn’t feeling strongly one way or the other, so I just sat and ate, and figured if people wanted to talk, they would say something to me.  And if we all sat in silence, I was cool with that, too.

One of the other students caught my eye, then made a comment – so we began a conversation.  And over the span of the next 20 minutes, I learned so much about her!  Our conversation was void of what can be typical “chit chat” fodder (which is usually comprised of topics I generally have little interest in nor patience for), and I completely enjoyed my time spent with her.  During our verbal interaction I felt engaged, yet also relaxed; and I left our conversation feeling both fulfilled and rewarded.

It was a lovely (and very unexpected!) segment of surprise in my Sunday.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Change is good

  1. I saw a quote and thought of your blog this morning:
    “We shall never know all the good that a simple smile can do.”
    Mother Teresa

    Smile Kiddo has shared a lot of smiles! Thanks for continuing to pass along these simple smiles!

    Tara

    Like

  2. Sweet story-beautiful painting. 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I can take credit for the story, but not the painting. 🙂 I couldn’t find who to attribute the artwork to (such is the “issue” with finding images on Google), but I like it, too.

      Like

  3. deenie12 says:

    I just stumbled on your blog, and I love what I’ve read.

    I also love conversations like these: when you meet a stranger and somehow manage to connect and get a glimpse of who the person really is. We don’t have these kinds of interactions nearly enough, and I’m glad that a change in your routine caused this. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Hi Nadine, it’s lovely to meet you! I’m delighted that you ran into this space; and am honored that you chose to comment and subscribe. Thank you! I look forward to interacting with you more in future days. 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

