A hilarious misunderstanding

A few days ago one of my friends posted the following sentence on Facebook:
“Jump-started this sluggish morning with some red hot chili peppers & social distortion.”
I was curious as to what she had for breakfast as I couldn’t think of many morning foods that incorporated chili peppers (maybe a spicy omelet? A wicked virgin Bloody Mary?); and I was totally baffled by the ‘social distortion’ reference.  My friend is a bit of a non-conformist, but social distortion?  What did that mean?  My curiosity was piqued,
and I wondered what had transpired…

So, I wrote the comment, “Social distortion?”, implying “What the heck did you do?”
I waited for a day, but no response. Hmm… now I’m very intrigued… and should I be worried?

This morning my friend did respond to me, and the reply I received was as follows:
“yep. great music from my youth…” To which, I wrinkled my brow, paused – and then laughed out loud.

It appears that Social Distortion is a punk rock band from the 1980s and 1990s (and into the 2000s…); and when my friend wrote about ‘red hot chili peppers’, she was referring not to food, but to music. Ah, it all makes sense now! However, at the time, I was convinced my friend was talking not about music, but about a spicy meal and political activism.

Here’s to meatloaf and foo fighters. 😉

(images from Bravotv.com)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A hilarious misunderstanding

  1. Christine says:

    …or Cake and Garbage! I’m having a ’90s flashback!

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

