A beautiful day for a stroll

I’m slightly embarrassed to admit that it’s been four months since I last took a walk outside.  There was a point in my life when I took at least a 10 minute walk outside every day, regardless of the heat or cold, or sunshine or rain (or sleet or snow…).  But since November, I just haven’t had a reason to face undesirable weather and get my rear end out for a walk each afternoon; so I just haven’t done it.

Today looked like it was going to be another stay-indoors kind of a day for me – but then my sweetie mentioned (suggested, nudged) that it was a gorgeous day outside, and that he was going to take a walk and get some sunshine and fresh air.  I didn’t exactly pop up out of my chair.  Yes, the sun was out (and I’m all about sunshine); but there were (are) still chunks of snow on the ground, and I dislike cold more than I like sun.  My sweetie then offered, “You can come with me if you want…”.  I’m a sucker for spending time with my sweetie, so I agreed.

As we stepped through the front door, I immediately felt the wonder of spring.  I loved seeing the bright sun, I adored smelling the fresh air, and I didn’t mind the cool wind that was batting at my ears.  My sweetie and I walked and talked, and I felt buoyed by our shared conversation, as well as our shared moments of silence; I just liked our general time together.

I have had kind of a rough go of things this winter (as I think many of us in my city have had; these past several months have not been kind to all of us [what with the bitter cold, and the excessive snow, and the gray days…]); but I think this winter has affected me more than winters of years past – in part because I haven’t had those daily walks.

So today’s venture outside was more than an opportunity to stretch my legs and get some fresh air; it was a rejuvenation of sorts.  And a good reminder.  I need to walk outside every day.  Heat or cold, sunshine or rain.  There is something about “outside” that buoys my spirits, and buffers me against the harsher tides of life.  I’m grateful to my sweetie for indirectly (perhaps even inadvertently) showing this to me.

So onward!  To the outdoors.  To wonderful companions and friends.  To life.  To walking.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A beautiful day for a stroll

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Finding out what makes you feel good? A good discovery!

    Like

  2. Pauline says:

    I have found that nothing is so awful that a healthy does of nature does not put it in a different perspective. In 65 years I’ve seen my share of joy and sorrow and I’ve taken both emotions out of doors. When I’m happy, the happiness is doubled and when I’m sad or discouraged, the feelings are cut in half by releasing them into the blue. Even tragedy has been borne with the help of clouds and mountains and a strong wind. We are creatures of nature – to cut ourselves off is to sever some vital part of us. And walking? Just think of the transfer of energy, from inertia to vitality! Good for you! (Climbing down of my soapbox 🙂

    Like

  3. Stef says:

    Pauline, I fully agree with you on all counts. When I am feeling joyous and jubilant, the skies and winds and life contained within nature seem all the more bright and vital; and when I’m feeling sad, depressed, sorrowful, the solace and balm that nature provides seems all the more precious. You can stand on your soapbox any time you’d like. 😉

    Like

  4. hey.. i’m new to your blog. but i really like the way you write and your attitude towards your life. 🙂 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

