Art imitates life… or vice versa?

On my way to yoga this afternoon, I stopped by the gas station to fill up my car’s fuel tank.  As I pumped the petrol, I let my eyes just wander and look around at nothing in particular.  Imagine my surprise, then, when I saw this:

Seeing this little boy just hanging out in his car seat along the side of the road reminded me immediately of the scene from Raising Arizona:

I nearly laughed out loud.  The child I saw today looked so out of place, it was a ridiculously humorous contrast.

(And, just to be clear, this was not a case of neglect or abandonment; the child’s parents were very close by.  They were just doing a little minivan spring cleaning.)

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Art imitates life… or vice versa?

  1. Joss says:

    a smile moment for sure. Petrol eh? definitely not in North America. hee hee.

    Like

  2. Christine says:

    Ha! I haven’t seen that movie in years, but your photo reminded me of it immediately!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I know, right? It’s been at least 10 years for me since I saw the film (if not longer), but as soon as I saw the child in the car seat, Nicholas Cage *immediately* entered my mind. 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

