Lessons from a friend

A few weeks ago we got a new treadmill – and I have been thoroughly enjoying it.  While the store we purchased the machine from provided a delivery service (which we happily used), they did not offer a corollary take-away service – so we have two treadmills in our basement, taking up precious (limited) space.

This evening one of my sweetie’s friends came over to the house, and together these two guys moved the not-being-used treadmill from the basement to the garage (which is also limited in space, but which is a better solution than the basement [until we can figure out a longer-term plan for the superfluous machine]).  The treadmill is not a ‘light’ machine, nor is it easy to maneuver; I braced myself for some ‘colorful’ language during the move process.

Instead, I heard my sweetie’s friend say things like, “Oh yeah, we almost have it now…  Yup, you got it, right there… This is coming along so well…”, and other encouraging, positive phrases – all with a genuine, authentic tone.  Had *I* been in the situation of being the one to move the heavy, awkward, clumsy machine through the crazy-small doorways and super-tight hallway that is our home, I suspect I would have been a wee bit more “cranky” (read: negative and hostile) than I would care to admit.  So seeing my husband’s friend respond to a difficult situation with such a wonderful, light-hearted, positive attitude really made an impact on me.  The friend’s comportment made me smile in the moment – and it made (makes) me want to continue to work to be a better person.

They say no act of kindness is too small; tonight I got to experience that adage first hand.  I will continue to work on emulating the terrific attitude I saw tonight in my thinking, my actions – my life.

Stef

P.S.  If anyone wants a treadmill, it’s yours free – all you have to do is pick it up.  🙂  [Seriously.]

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lessons from a friend

  1. Joss says:

    isn’t it neat how someone can bless us in many ways by an act of kindness.
    walk in beauty.

    Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Great observation, great story, and best of all, REALLY great moral.

    Coincidentally, we just saw the same thing at our house when our (much) younger friends took away our treadmill. Their attitude was like your sweetie and his friend, and it makes an impression.
    (I’m more inclined to the grumpy/panicky/impatient school myself.)

    Like

    • Stef says:

      It really DOES make an impression. And I want to leave others with good energy, not negative yucky ‘baggage’ kinds of feelings; the actions/speech of the friend really made me want to be better. To me, that’s a very special kind of person; one I am striving to be more like, more of the time. 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

