Genuine yoga

Ever since I “got serious” about yoga, my mom has been commenting that she would like to attend a class.  Each time I visit her I casually mention that she and I could try to find a yoga class near her if she wanted – but her response is usually along the lines of, “No, not now, maybe later…”.  Okay.

As I was preparing for my family’s visit, once again I mentioned yoga to my mom.  I said that if she was interested in trying it out, I could take her to the studio that I practice in – which I know has safe, knowledgeable teachers, and classes designed for beginners as well as more advanced students.  To my surprise, my mom said that yes, she would like to come to class with me.  So this morning, she and I went to the studio, and she experienced her very first yoga class – right next to me.

I was really pleased that my mom cares enough about me to show her support for an activity that clearly is important to me – not only with her words, but also through her actions.  And I was delighted that not only did I get to be present for my mom’s first yoga class, but that we were able to fully experience it together.

I know my family loves me.  I also know they don’t fully ‘understand’ a lot of my lifestyle.  But they do try to learn more about it/me; and they respect it/me as best they know how.  I’m a very lucky girl to have such a good family.  And knowing just how lucky I really am makes me wildly happy.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Genuine yoga

  1. Pauline says:

    I’ve so enjoyed your last couple of posts about your family. Isn’t it the best feeling to KNOW you’re loved? Good for your mom for joining you at your Yoga practice. She and my own mom would have gotten along just fine 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Pauline, thank you so much for your comment! It sounds like we both have some amazing family members – which is truly one of the best gifts in the world.

      Like

  2. Yay! to great mums all over the world! =) BTW, I find myself in a very similar situation to yours. My family lives many thousands of miles away and I know that they love me for who I am even though sometimes they may not fully understand my lifestyle and choices. But they know that whatever I choose will be well-thought since it would reflect my upbringing. Grateful to have a family.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Distance can be difficult, non? Yet I fully agree – my family may not always understand my choices, but they trust that I am making good ones for me – and they can take comfort in knowing they did the very best they could for me, and as a result I likely won’t go too terribly far astray in life. Thank you for sharing your perspective and story; it really does help me. I appreciate it! I’m very grateful to have a family; and also grateful for thoughtful people such as yourself. 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

