Connection via cups

My parents and sister returned home this morning.  Their flight back was an early one – which meant we all woke up a few hours before we would have chosen to otherwise.
I was the first one out of bed and ready to leave (to drive the family to the airport),
so as I was waiting for everyone else to shower, dress, have breakfast, etc., I busied myself by straightening the house.  Rinsing dirty mugs, wiping down counters, recycling old papers…just easy, only-takes-a-few-minutes, light housekeeping.

As my sister finished her breakfast, she rinsed her cereal bowl, then paused as she looked at the still-full dishwasher.  She asked if it was clean.  I responded that it was.  As I was about to begin unloading it (so that she could then put her dirty breakfast dishes inside it), she asked, “Would you like some help?”  I was honestly a little surprised by the question.
I responded, “Um, sure, if you’d like, that would be really nice.”  So she and I spent a few minutes in the kitchen this morning, silently-yet-contentedly moving plates to shelves, flatware to drawers.  We gracefully moved around each other, engaging in a flowing dance that had no structured choreography, but one to which we somehow both knew exactly the next right action.

Those three minutes, those precious moments of clear appreciation and intimate connection, were absolutely the best part of my day.  To feel the understanding, support, and gratitude that my sister had for what I tried to provide this weekend (and, I suspect, to our relationship in a broader sense) thoroughly warmed my soul.  I truly value how much she is working to deepen our relationship – how much we both are.  To receive small, tender moments like this one buoys my spirit, and reminds me once again how very lucky I am.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Connection via cups

  1. Another great post. Thanks for sharing this. Spending time with my family is something that truly makes me happy in life. I enjoy reading your blog very much.

    Fun Family Activity Ideas

    Like

  2. Happy birthday Stef. Hope you had a great time with your family. 🙂

    Like

  3. Joss says:

    a conscious moment of beauty for you!

    Like

  4. Very nice. I too have a lovely young sister. She likes to pamper me when she visits me and I do the same when I visit her. Cheers to sisters! =)

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

