One day, multiple experiences

Today was one heck of a day.  One. Heck. Of. A. Day.

  1. My day began with a formal presentation to about 50 leaders in my work group about two key projects I have spent the past 4-6 months working on, developing, and refining – and today, I delivered the results.
  2. In the middle of my day I spent about two hours with a national news media correspondent, talking with him about a group I started at my employer just over a year ago.  In addition to having this television reporter sit through a 30-minute meeting I facilitated, I also had a 20 minute on-camera interview with him.
  3. My day then ended with yet another formal presentation (about the same topic I shared in the morning), only this time to approximately 50 professional trainers.

Nothing like spending a day presenting to professional presenters and a professional reporter.  Yikes!

So yeah; today was one-heck-of-a-day.

And yet, I had about a bajillion smiles today.  No lie.
Here are just two (of MANY) highlights:

Funny version

I wore a lapel-microphone for the media interview.  The sound woman asked if I would mind if she attached the mike to me, to which I responded, “Not at all, go ahead.”
The very next second (yes, second) the woman’s hand was down my shirt (attaching the mike), then two seconds later her head was up the back of my dress (attaching the transmitter).  Um, hello… But – do you want to know the best part of all?  I absolutely didn’t flinch for any of this.  Yoga has gotten me so completely desensitized to people I don’t really know, touching me in semi-intimate ways, that as this complete stranger had her hand on my bra (literally), I was just chatting with her about how long she has been in the sound business, what she likes best about it, how much her gear weighs, etc.  La la la, no problem about your hand on my underwear in the middle of a work conference room, happens all the time….

Hilarious!  Only at the end of the day, as I was reflecting on the crazy swirl of events I had experienced in a mere 8-hour time period, did I really understand/process what happened in the conference room – and then I laughed out loud.  Awesome.

Serious version

Hopefully needless to say, today was a very stressful day.  A very exciting day, a very cool day, a very amazing day, truly a once-in-a-lifetime kind of a day, but also a very (very) stressful day.  And yet, I moved through the day with relative ease, because I was surrounded [surrounded!] by genuinely caring, compassionate, loving people.  Throughout the day, people were saying kind things to me, certainly – but it was more than that.  So much more.  Throughout the day people were looking me in the eyes, and sharing a part of their spirit with me.  I know that may perhaps sound slightly insane, but it’s the best way I can describe it: People were rallying for me so much in their own hearts, and were wanting and wishing the absolute best for me, and were sending me all of the encouragement and kindness they could possibly generate, that I not only intellectually understood their overwhelming desire to share compassion with me, I physically felt it.  My heart connected with all of the power of theirs – and it was incredible.  Incredible.  And I received this shared sense of goodwill and kindness not only from the people I presented to this morning, not only from the media relations coaches who prepared me for the mid-day interview, not only from the reporter and camera man and sound technician and producer, not only from the 40+ participants in the filmed session I led, not only from the amazing group of women I have the pleasure of working with each week (who, by the way, stood outside the door as the event was taking place, simply because they wanted me to know they were close by – talk about amazing!), not only from various people in the company who were aware of the events of the day and sent me special encouraging notes – but truly, by everyone.  Everyone.

Today was a day I won’t likely forget any time soon.  But it’s less about the events of the day, and more about the love that really was shared by-and-between so many people.  Many of these people really are little more than “strangers”; but I have been profoundly affected by their generous gifts of compassion and care.  I’m humbled and awed to have been just one part of this tremendous day.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to One day, multiple experiences

  1. carlaat says:

    Sounds like one BIG day! Did you wear one of your new suits and feel fabulous in it?
    Congrats on all of the positivity in the day!

    Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Tremendous experience, Stef, and so well written about —
    I love the “la la la” of the first version, and can resonate with the vibes of love in the second version. Congrats, babes.

    Like

  3. dibahr says:

    Congratulations! Sounds like you have a really interesting job!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I am privileged to work for a big company that continues to provide me amazing opportunities – many of which are simply the result of me being in the right place at the right time. I swear my life is abundant with “dumb luck” – and I’m incredibly grateful for that!

      Like

  4. deenie12 says:

    Yay! This was a great post to read. What a day!! It sounds like you did amazingly well, and I loved reading about the goodwill and kindness you felt from everyone involved in the event. It could have been so easy to become absorbed in the stress and only focus on you and what you needed to do, but you were able to look at the bigger picture of what was happening, and that’s an amazing ability. I loved that the women you work with stood outside the door during the event! That’s so wonderful!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Bhante G Retreat: Day 2 (4/23/11) « Meditation Mania

  6. Pingback: May 2011 Posts « Meditation Mania

  7. Stephen says:

    Incredible, Stef, way to go. I love how you close this post. Talk about being humble! :p

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks Stephen. It really was an incredible day; and still, now a full two months later, I continue to be really awed by it, and grateful for it. 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

