Dip It Good

I like really hot beverages.

I have this awesome stainless steel, double-walled, keeps-my-tea-hot-for-literally-hours travel mug that I use every single day.  It’s terrific.

I’ve had the mug for at least five years now (if not six or seven even – I can’t remember…), and over the years it has gotten pretty grimy.

Ew. I know.

I clean the mug as best I can (I really do!), but it can’t be put in the dishwasher – which means it gets as clean as a sponge and my own brut arm strength can make it. (Read: not terribly clean.)

The interior state of the mug was getting to a place where I was kind of getting a little squeamish thinking about what might be hanging around inside of it – even after I apply soap and scalding hot water to it, trying my best to kill germs and microbes and other invisible yuckies.

I didn’t want to throw the mug out (it still works wonderfully! Even 5+years later), but I also wanted it to get a bit more clean.  (Okay, a lot more clean.)  So what to do?

As I was getting groceries, I noticed a product called “Dip It”, that claimed to clean all sorts of beverage items.  Coffee makers, thermoses, tea kettles… it promised to make these items good as new – so why not give it a whirl on my tea mug?

So I did.  I followed the instructions to the letter.  Fifteen minutes after pouring the solution into my mug, I emptied the now-dark-brown water into the sink, and peered inside.

The very first thought that entered my mind was literally: “Holy crap, I can’t believe it worked!”

That's a nice lookin' mug.

I’m delighted that my mug is now truly good-as-new; and I’m also laughing at my immediate response.  I crack myself up.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dip It Good

  1. I love the idea of making things new again. Like putting my trainers in the washing machine or having my shoes re-heeled. 🙂
    Enjoy your new mug.

    Like

  2. superjessleong says:

    whoa whoaa!! igotta get me some of this!!! my te tumbler is pretty o_o gross too xD!!! i love my tea tumbler too 😀 its soo pretty X)

    Like

  3. Lee says:

    Wow, this is so cool! I was just thinking the other day that they should make something for cleaning a thermos. Thanks for posting!

    Like

  4. rebekah says:

    Loved your spontaneous response 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

