Hilarity ensues

Have you ever seen outtakes of TV shows where the actors have the giggles?  They can’t keep a straight face when they are supposed to be “serious”; even a simple glance at one of their peers sends them into fits of laughter:

It’s pretty wonderful.  Every time I see a clip like that, I also start to laugh.  Empathetic joy.  It’s great.

This afternoon, I had an experience like this of my own.  I was in yoga teacher training (one of the last classes in this program) with two fellow students.  The task we were given was to teach a 20-minute sequence to our peers; only, each of our peers had some behavior “issue” that they were instructed to display during our ‘class’.  The ‘teacher’ leading the series was to address the issues as he/she would if they were happening in a real class; and at the end of the 20 minutes, all of the participants (‘teacher’ and ‘students’ alike) would discuss what happened, other alternative actions one might take, how it felt to be part of a class where behavior issues were present, etc.

So I teach my 20 minutes, and it was fine.  (One of my ‘students’ complained that her shoulder hurt; fine, I told her modified poses to do.  The other ‘student’ simply didn’t follow my instructions, but instead did his own poses during the class.  Fine, I just repeated myself, and physically changed his limbs until he complied with me.)  🙂  Then the next ‘teacher’ goes, and again, it was no big deal.  Finally, the last ‘teacher’ begins.  The other ‘student’ in the class was instructed to ask questions every chance she could – and boy, did she ever.  And after the fourth question, it started to get really funny.  By five minutes into the class, I was smiling from ear to ear.  Halfway through the class I started giggling as soon as I heard the questioning student open her mouth.  During the last five minutes of the class, I just couldn’t stop laughing.  Thank goodness I’m a decent yogi – it’s tough holding downward facing dog while outright laughing!  Tough, but awesome.

I truly haven’t laughed this hard, for this long, since I-don’t-know-when.  It felt fantastic.

Yay, silly yoga!  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hilarity ensues

  1. Joss says:

    yay for silliness and laughter!

    Like

  2. Uncontrollable giggling gas got to be one of lifes greatest pleasures! Thankyou so much for those Seinfeld clips – I love that they crack each other up as much as they crack the rest of us up. It’s so true that it’s infectious. Happy hilarious monday! 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I love watching people having fun at their work; and actors who are genuinely giggling and enjoying one another are a delight to observe. I hope you had a terrific Monday! 🙂

      Like

  3. Great post 🙂
    Like the idea of you laughing uncontrollably in quite a controlled space.
    Nice clips too-made me laugh thanks. 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

