Dinner – again. (Sigh.)

There are those people that eat to live, and there are other people that live to eat.

I’m pretty much an “eat to live” kind of gal.

Now, don’t get me wrong – I enjoy delicious, well-made food as much as the next person.  Only, a lot of what passes for “food” isn’t exactly well-made.  Or delicious.  And food that really is well-made and delicious is usually either expensive to buy, or labor-intensive to make, or time-consuming to prepare.  (And sometimes all three.)  I’m too frugal to spend the cash, too uninterested to exert the labor, and too curious about other things in life to spend the time.

If my friend Jonathan lived close by, and would share some of his awesome dinners with me, I would happily eat his good food.  Unfortunately, he lives in Spain.  And I don’t.

So, I’m stuck fending for myself.  Feeding myself.  Finding healthy-yet-quick-and-easy meals for myself.

Probably needless to say, I eat very basic food most days.  🙂

This evening was one of those nights where I just really didn’t care what I had for dinner.  One of those (semi-frequent) occasions where I opened the refrigerator door, and was completely apathetic towards every item in the big, cold space.

At times like this, I have a few go-to items that I know I can make quickly, that are healthy, and that will get this whole feeding job done.  One of those items is eggs.

Egg beaters, specifically.  We always have a carton of egg beaters in our fridge (middle shelf on the far left side), and I can make them in under two minutes.  (Put them in a bowl, microwave them for 45 seconds, stir, then nuke another 45 seconds.  Top with shredded cheese, and let stand 20 seconds.  The cheese gets all melted, and then they are ready to be eaten.  Done and done.)

But these liquid eggs do more than just fill my belly – they also entertain me.  During the final 10-15 seconds of their cook time, the eggs grow in their bowl; and during the last few seconds, they get so big that they come fully out of the bowl.

(Pardon the fuzzy, blurry nature of this ‘action shot’; hopefully you still get the general idea.)

The eggs shrink back down once the heat blast stops; but for a few seconds in their brief life, the egg beaters are just huge.

(This image is a little clearer, but because it was two seconds after the first picture, the eggs have already diminished in size a bit.)

This dinner preparation is like a cool science experiment that I get to eat.  Even though I’ve had this meal more times than I can count, I still smile every time I see the big puffy eggs.  They’re just fun.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dinner – again. (Sigh.)

  1. Asha says:

    oh wow! i will have to try that 🙂

    Like

  2. carlaat says:

    We often have the same thing going on here — not the poofy eggs (although eggs are also a go-to for us) but the ambivalence at meal time. I love to make a delicious meal, but we have been known to make a happy dinner of popcorn and wine, with a little chocolate, perhaps! Seems that I go through cycles of cooking and then lazing. Good thing my sweetheart and I are on the same page with this approach!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Due to my health needs, I have to have a well-balanced food assortment at each meal time – so no popcorn/wine/chocolate dinners for me. 🙂 Sounds interesting, though… 😉

      Like

  3. Yay-that’s me!
    Thanks for the name check. 🙂

    You’re welcome to come round for dinner anytime you’re in the area. 😉

    I remember making scrambled eggs in the microwave at my mum’s. It was fascinating to watch it grow in the Tupperware jug in literally seconds.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Yay Jonathan! 🙂 You are most welcome for the call-out; I really enjoy your blog, and appreciate what you are doing for you son! (And your wife.) 😉

      Like

  4. narami says:

    I live to eat, but I don’t love cooking. Bad combination. I made do somehow though, and I agree any food that makes a fun time is worth it.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

