Timing is everything

This morning was rainy and wet, but by midday the sky had cleared and the ground had dry.  The sun came out, and the day led into a beautiful afternoon for a walk.

I happily popped my tennis shoes on my feet and my head phones in my ears, and set out for a very lovely stroll.

Thirty minutes into the walk, though, the sky began to darken.  Gray clouds moved in to cover the sun, and the wind started to assert itself.  It seemed that rain was coming.

Fortunately, today I took a path I don’t usually follow, and I found myself relatively close to home at this point in the walk.  I began to hasten my pace.

About 100 yards from home, sprinkles started to brush my cheeks.  I shifted my brisk walk to a light jog.

Fifty yards from the house, plumper drops of water began to land on my head.  I quickened the turnover of my feet and moved into a more determined jog.

Twenty yards from the house, the frequency of those bigger drops began to escalate.  I broke into a run.

Just as I reached the front door of our home, the clouds popped, and heavy rain began to come down in earnest.

I’ve said before on this blog that I’m not a big believer in ‘coincidences’ – mostly because too many ‘coincidental’ things happen to me much too often to all be dismissed as mere coincidences.  Today’s series of events was yet another example of such a cluster of ‘coincidental’ acts.

Instead, these situations all show me (time and again, over and over and over), that I am being cared for – whether I am aware of it or not.  Today, I was aware; and in those moments, on those days, of course I smile.  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Timing is everything

  1. superjessleong says:

    oOoo thats awesome!! ;D love those kinds of days

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks Jess. Receiving these ‘reminders’ always makes me feel happy and grateful. And remaining dry is a nice bonus, too. 😉

      Like

      • superjessleong says:

        haha yea makes me kinda just think about things too x) yes the nice things just seem much nicer that way too!

        Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

