A very satisfying night

This evening my sweetie and I spent quite a bit of time together – which is rather unusual for us for a work night.  Immediately after work we met with our financial planner (it was a very positive, ‘easy’ meeting); then my sweetie and I talked about different aspects of our respective jobs for 20 minutes or so (one of the benefits of being employed at the same place is that we both truly understand what the other is talking about when it comes to the context of our work); then we discussed likely travel plans for the summer (we have a variety of fun trips ahead of us, from my sweetie’s 15-year college reunion, to an Independence Day weekend with family, to a road trip to Washington DC to take in the sights and see some friends…); then we had dinner and chatted about college memories (ah, those really were the days).  And throughout the evening, I found myself thinking, “I’m really lucky that I have someone to help make important decisions with,” and “I’m really lucky that I have someone I can talk with candidly, who really understands me,” and “I’m really lucky that I have someone to share fun experiences with,” and “I’m really lucky to have a playful, relaxed, smart, kind, honest, happy person to share my life with.”  I’m just all-out really, really lucky.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A very satisfying night

  1. rebekah says:

    Are we not two really lucky gals?! 🙂 I find myself in the same type of relationship, except for the work part … that’s all over. I’ve often wondered what that might be like … to work in the same place as your husband.

    You guys had a good time … the thing is, I think, to never take anything for granted. Then we keep appreciating what we have.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Rebekah, we absolutely are lucky! 🙂 My sweetie and I work for a very large company, so we get all of the ‘perks’ at understanding each other’s jobs, without the ‘annoyance’ of being very close together 24/7. (We are both pretty darn independent, and each need our own space.) 🙂

      Yes, to remain grateful and not take anything for granted is truly beautiful. It’s the attitude I try to cultivate; and much of the time, I’m successful. Not always, but often; and that’s a start. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hanna says:

    Say Hi from me to your sweety :). Hope you two have a great life together forever ^_^

    Like

  3. Very nice! I feel the same way about my husband, he’s very much my best friend. I never felt that way about my ex so I know how special that is 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Aw, that’s wonderful! I can easily say that my husband is also my best friend; and while we did have a rough few years in there, I am so grateful that I got my head on straight, and now can really see EXACTLY how amazing he is – and treat him the way I should have been treating him all along.

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

