Falling from the sky

At work this morning I had a “Get To Know You” meeting with a colleague.  We chose to go to a nearby coffee shop, and talk over warm beverages.

After picking up our drinks, my peer and I sat down at a corner table.  A few minutes later, two maintenance workers with a ladder approached us.  The men explained that they needed to replace a light bulb overhead, and if we wouldn’t mind they would just take care of the task right now.  They would be quick and quiet.  My colleague and I nodded, and continued on with our conversation.

After a short while, I became focused on my associate and her story, and forgot all about the repair occurring nearby.  That is, until I felt something hit my chest, then land on my legs.

Yup, you guessed it: a light bulb.

When the fixture struck my chest I jerked back reflexively; when it then landed perfectly on my lap I looked down, blinked at it for a second (trying to process what just happened, attempting to allow my brain to catch-up with gravity and time), then chuckled.

Meanwhile, the men were looking somewhat frantically for the rogue bulb.  They knew they dropped it, but they couldn’t find it anywhere on the floor or nearby tables (for obvious reasons).

Seeing the men search, I called out, “Oh gentlemen….”, and held the bulb in my outstretched palm.  They then looked at me, blinked for a second, allowed their brains to process the situation – then looked a bit alarmed.

I smiled.  I said I caught their bulb for them.  (I spared them the details of exactly how I caught their bulb; they needn’t know about my chest.)  They apologized.  I told them it was no problem; the bulb was small, and mercifully not hot.  All is well.

The men apologized again, then quickly folded their ladder, apologized a third and final time, then left.

I turned to my colleague, laughed lightly, and smiled.  She smiled, a bit uncertain how to respond.  I helped her out by simply resuming our conversation where we had left off.

Interestingly, this was the exact same coffee shop where my accident occurred just a few months ago.  Once again I felt gratitude for the very understanding woman from that scene; her grace and affable nature did flash before me today, and helped me remember to be kind and understanding, too.

Still, maybe I need to stop off at a different store for my morning cup of joe… Nah.  I enjoy these crazy experiences; they make for good stories.  [I’m not creative enough to make this stuff up!]  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Falling from the sky

  1. rebekah says:

    Wonderful … no, you just cannot give up that coffee shop! 🙂 It makes for good blogs. It’s funny … your blog posts often seem to evoke similar memories for me. That’s a good thing, I need ideas sometimes.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I must have some powerful karma or something around this coffee shop…. 😉 And I agree, it DOES make for good blogs! I need to keep hanging out there for the writing benefits, if nothing else. 🙂

      I’m curious – what memories did this post evoke in you? I’d love to read them…

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

