Potluck preparations

One of my colleagues is having a baby.  To help her celebrate, today my work team gave the mom-to-be a surprise shower over the lunch hour.

A few of my peers and I arrived to the conference room early to help set-up and decorate.  The team decided to make the meal an intimate, personal, casual affair – so we opted for a cozy potluck rather than a formal lunch at a restaurant.

As people brought in various food items to share, I placed them on the far end of a big table.  The theme for the meal was “sandwiches” (the mom-to-be’s lunch item of choice), so one of the items in our collection of goodies was lunchmeat.

I’m a vegetarian, and the team knows that I choose to not consume meat because of my spiritual beliefs.  So as I removed the roast beef, turkey, and ham from their individual packages and placed them on a plate, one of my peers discreetly asked me in a quiet voice, “Stef, are you okay doing that?  Would you prefer I do it?”

I was genuinely touched by her attentiveness, her concern, and her compassion.  I smiled lightly.  I stated that it was okay; I certainly didn’t want to draw any attention to myself, as this day was about our colleague and her baby, and not at all about me and my personal preferences.  My peer quickly nodded in a very gentle, understanding way; and the two of us happily continued on with the preparations.

But I was really touched by my peer’s offer.  I hold some beliefs that not all people share, or even agree with – and that’s fine, I respect that every person has his/her own individual path.  My path isn’t ‘right’ for everyone, it’s just right for me.  Still, I am always honored when someone chooses to respect my path, and when they strive to be inclusive and sensitive to my beliefs.  It is perhaps one of the ‘best’ ways a person can show that they care for me; and this knowledge makes me feel amazingly special.

Stef

P.S.  The shower went very well.  The mom-to-be was genuinely surprised (which is just super fun!), and truly touched by our actions.  It was a lovely lunchtime gathering.  : )

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Potluck preparations

  1. Joss says:

    What a kind gesture that was on your co-worker’s part. You are attracting waves of beauty these days!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I am incredibly lucky to be surrounded by *many* special people in my life. And it really is amazing – what I tend to “put out”, I tend to “get back”. I’m not sure about ‘The Law Of Attraction’ and all that, but I have seen this terrific karmic force at work in my life (in both directions); and it’s pretty wild… 🙂

      Like

  2. barb19 says:

    You have a very special friend there Stef, someone who is understanding and compassionate. Had I been in the same situation as you, I too, would have been touched by her deep feeling and concern for your beliefs. Friends like that are few and far between, she is a little gem!

    Like

  3. That was a kind gesture and very unexpected! I felt the same way two weeks ago at a work luncheon! Normally at these affairs all I can eat is the salad…but for the first time in the two years I’ve worked here, they ordered vegetarian sandwiches also! I was so touched!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      That is really sweet. My team does a very good job of ensuring there is at least one decent vegetarian offering for me (or, keeps the meat-stuff on the side so that I can eat whatever they are eating, too). I’m glad to hear your work colleagues are doing the same for you, too! 🙂

      Like

  4. Being vegetarian does create some interesting (and telling) moments. It’s awful to feel “problematic” in such social eating situations, and that makes it extra wonderful when someone shows they accept and support your choice completely. Yay for true friends! 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Anymore, I don’t feel ‘bad’ for making my specific needs known – and for staying true to them. I analogize it to being diabetic: If a diabetic person needed to adhere to a specific meal plan, they wouldn’t be chastised or made to feel guilty, would they? (Not unless the person doing the chastising was a complete jerk…) So just as a diabetic is going to pass on the buttercream frosting and opt for fresh fruit instead, so too will I pass on the lunchmeat and stick to the cheese. 🙂

      But it IS delightful when people opt to support – yay for true friends indeed!

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

