xkcd

Last night my sweetie handed his ipad to me, and told me, “Stef, you have to read this.”

I took the device warily. I adore my sweetie (hopefully that is very clear by now – but if you’re new to this blog and want to get caught up on how amazing my sweetie is, you can review the various posts about him here), but we don’t always have the same tastes. When it comes to good humor, interesting news, fun ways to spend time, enjoyable ways to relax, etc. etc. etc., my sweetie and I can have pretty different preferences. Sometimes what he thinks is “great!” or “interesting” or “important“, I don’t always agree with. So I’ve learned to temper my sweetie’s enthusiasm for the super-cool-awesome-important-insightful thing he wants to share with me, and read/experience the thing very casually; just approach it with a bit of a “let’s-wait-and-see” kind of attitude.

So.  On the screen of the ipad was a cartoon, from this website called “xkcd”. I had never heard of the website, nor seen any of their cartoons, so I kind of skimmed over the page. It actually did look a little interesting, so I took a few minutes and really read the cartoon – and at the end of it, I smiled.

The cartoon did pique my interest. And today has been a dreary, rainy, chilly, windy, gray day; so I decided that I would give myself a little break this afternoon, and check out a few more xkcd bits. I went to the website, clicked on the “Random” button to see what some of the other snippets were like, and oh-my-lord, I was laughing OUT LOUD within minutes.

The humor coming from this cartoonist is very smart (he’s a physics/robotics/computer guy), and sometimes includes commentary on society; but just as often is simply playful and silly. It’s a lovely blend of kooky and crazy and crafty; and at times is irreverent, yet also respectful. It just really spoke to me (as did the general demeanor and attitude of the artist as shared on his About page), and I spent a good hour [I’m not exaggerating] clicking Random, Random, Random on the website, being thoroughly entertaining, and laughing out loud more than once.

If you’d like to check out a few of the comics I found particularly humorous, I’ve linked to them below. But like my sweetie and I, your humor may be different from mine; so perhaps click “Random” a few times on your own and see what happens.

Dirty Hairy
Students
Geography
Puns
Braille

I know what I’ll be doing whenever I need a smile pick-me-up… 🙂

Stef

Bonus: Scroll down to the 7th picture on this page – awesome.

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to xkcd

  1. Joss says:

    you’re right, what a neat link. thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  2. Funny, my husband just showed me site yesterday! 🙂

    Like

  3. HAHAHA, Love it! Thanks for the laugh!
    I kind of want to learn braille now to see if they actually say things like that ever! 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I’m glad you liked it! I know .01% Braille (basically, a few numbers), and every time I’m on an elevator I can confirm that at least the numbers are being represented accurately. But the text, now, that could be a different story… 😉

      Like

  4. carlaat says:

    I love that his cartoon inspired so many people to take photos of themselves playing chess on roller-coasters and log flumes – too funny! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I know! I think it would be AWESOME if I ever posted/wrote/created something that people from all over chose to emulate, completely without hint or suggestion from me, just because they were inspired to do so. Just goes to show how much this resonates with some folks; I love that *many* people appreciate this smart humor.

      Like

  5. Touch2Touch says:

    A couple lit my fire, most missed (too “techie” for me to get), but my oldest granddaughter sketches comics herself, and is into Information Technology (whatever that may be) and I’ve passed along the link to her. It may be her thing —
    So thanks!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I missed a fair share of them; but the ones I got more than made up for the ones I didn’t. 🙂 Fun to learn about your granddaughter – I hope she likes it! (If she doesn’t know about it already; if she’s in IT, this may be old news to her…)

      Like

  6. Pingback: Numbers bring it all together | Smile, kiddo.

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

