Welcome to the world

The “Rule of 3” is active in my life once again.  Actually, the rule has been in a bit of overdrive this past week – but today I’ll focus on just one of the many instances I could cite.

A work colleague is adopting a baby internationally; and today I learned (completely by ‘happenstance’) that she and her husband are leaving on a plane tomorrow pick up their daughter.  In a few weeks, all three of the individuals in this situation will return as a family; and to know that a previously ‘unwanted’ (or, maybe more accurately, unable-to-be-cared-for) baby is being united with two loving adults who desperately want a child deeply touches my heart.

Later this afternoon I received news that another work colleague had their first baby today!  To see pictures of a brand-new, still pink and bleary-eyed, tiny new life is truly profound.  And again, to know that this completely dependent, innocent, 100% ‘pure’ entity is surrounded by such forces of unimaginable protection and unspeakable love – it’s almost overwhelmingly beautiful.

Early this evening I took a walk, and I chose a path I don’t often follow.  And wouldn’t you know it, not even ten minutes into my stroll, I came upon this sight:

The sun overpowered the text on the right sign; the baby buggy is pink, and the text reads (predictably): "It's a girl!"

Two new little beings have blessed us with their presence in this great big society we all share.  I don’t know the parents who live at the home that has the yard that held these signs; but I felt a lot of joy in simply being aware of their joy.

My sweetie and I don’t have children, and (barring some truly demonstrative act of God) we never will.  And while I sometimes wonder ‘Why not?’ and ‘What if?’, I always rejoice in the elation, jubilation, and celebration of new life.  Welcome to the world little ones – I’m delighted you chose to join us.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in rule of 3 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Welcome to the world

  1. What a wonderful day full of blessings…and you certainly have the right attitude…what would life be if we only appreciated our own blessings and were jealous of others’?? All blessings both ours and others are cause for celebration!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Absolutely. We are all so inter-connected; and to be able to celebrate my own joys *and* the joys of others just gives me more things to be able to be happy about! 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Take Two… | Smile, kiddo.

  3. How lovely! There is nothing more joyful than a new baby wrapped up in the unconditional love of friends and family.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      And babies really are some of the only beings I know who receive unconditional love. They can be a screaming, stinky mess, and we still just smile at them and love them.

      Perhaps we can learn to apply that same care and attention to all people, even as they transition from babies to kids, to adults…

      Like

  4. How very touching.
    Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

