Take Two…

Today was yet another day where the “Rule of 3” permeated my experiences.  To have two of these types of days back-to-back (and to experience multiple iterations of the rule in each of the days); it makes me wonder….

This morning as I was eating breakfast, I read an article in a magazine that reminded me of a writer I know.  Judith was one of the earliest commenters on this blog, and her consistent notes and encouraging words let me know at least one person ‘out there’ was listening.  So I was very happy to be able to send her a small note with text I thought she might enjoy.

This afternoon I took my daily walk, and returned home to find the mailman at the end of our driveway.  Amid the catalogs and offers and bills he handed off was a small package addressed to me.  Hmm…. I opened the bubble pack, and inside were a few gifts from a fellow blogger!  Ruth has a very cool site where she is committing to look at one item in her home each day, and deciding if she should keep or pitch it.  Being an anti-collector, I usually advise her to “Pitch!”; but there have been a few items she’s posted that I thought were cool, and commented to that effect.  Clearly she reads her comments, because today’s package contained two of the items I mentioned that I liked.  Wow!  What a kind action – this totally makes me smile.

This evening I wrote my weekly grocery list – which means I had to also select (or create) the recipe I want to make for my weekly food blog (so that I ensure I get all of the necessary ingredients when I complete the weekly food run).  As I was deciding which recipe I should make this week, I remembered a question that one of my online foodie friends asked me a few days ago.  Jonathan spent this week revisiting many of his forgotten kitchen gadgets (juicer, pasta maker, etc.), and he asked me if I had used my frittata pan again.  So this week’s recipe: another frittata.  And another nod to an online friend.

I am ridiculously lucky to have amazing people in my life: some physically close to me, some close in emotional connection, and some close in shared interests and supports.  But these realms are all starting to blend, the lines between each one becoming quite blurred – and it makes for a pretty wonderful life.

Gosh, I wonder what tomorrow might bring?  🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in rule of 3 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Take Two…

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Ve-ry neat.
    Very neat indeed, Stef.
    You call it all forth —

    Like

  2. Joss says:

    maybe tomorrow will be a third day in a row of threes! Life is a fascinating, fun, journey at times.

    Like

  3. I love your ‘nods.’ They make me smile. 🙂

    Thanks for being my online friend too. As you say, it’s nice to know there’s somebody out there .
    Looking forward to the frittata. 😉

    Like

  4. narami says:

    I loved this. People connecting, it’s awesome.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Age is just a number | Smile, kiddo.

  6. blogging also connected me to a lot of people, though none of ’em met me personally or sent gifts, but still, it’s amazing^_^ and you talk about your readers in a very personal way, as if they’re life-long friends. hmm, i like the positive energy in this site! 😀

    Like

    • Stef says:

      I have yet to meet any of my fellow bloggers face-to-face (though who knows what may happen one day…), but I do feel connected to people who read and comment regularly. Through them sharing their insights, perspectives, preferences, views, I *do* get to know them; and that is how friendships are made, how bonds are formed. So yeah, I do have some friends as a result of this space; and it’s quite wonderful. 🙂

      Like

  7. rutheh says:

    So happy the barrel of monkeys has a new home. And when you pitch them I won’t even know! Painless.
    Looking forward to reading more of your positive energy, Stef.

    Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

