Age is just a number

Yesterday Joss, an active commenter on this blog, quipped: “Maybe tomorrow will be a third day in a row of threes!” She was spot on.

In yoga this morning, the teacher announced that one of our fellow students is celebrating her birthday today – her 70th birthday, to be exact.  Wow.  I asked the birthday gal when she started doing yoga, and she replied, “Oh, when I retired – about five years ago.”  This is wonderfully cool to me: 1) That an older woman is fit enough to push her body via what can be a demanding form of exercise, and 2) That this older woman began something completely new-to-her when she was 65 years old.

As the class moved past the warm-up phase, and entered the apex section, the teacher instructed us to individually practice one of three poses: we were to choose between forearm stand, headstand, or handstand.  As we all struggled with kicking into the air, finding balance, overcoming fear, and wrestling with physical strength, we heard the teacher shriek with delight: one of the students kicked up into a handstand, and was maintaining the pose!  I looked to the end of the room where the student was, and saw a 61-year old woman completely inverted on her hands.  Again, to see an older lady (with gray hair and wrinkles) maintain a pose that many young, spry, twisty-bendy yogis can’t do, was wildly cool!

At the end of the class, we sang “Happy Birthday” to the 70-year-old student; and then someone asked the teacher, “Hey, wasn’t your birthday just yesterday?”  The teacher blushed slightly, then admitted that yes, yesterday she turned 65 years old.  So here was a third older lady who is also an impressive yogi.  (This teacher does the Ashtanga Primary Series – talk about a kick in the pants! That series kicks my butt!)

These women are terrific examples and role models for me.  Seeing them not only active and engaged in life, but truly (literally) strong and balanced and powerful – damn.  It really knocked my socks off; and I grinned the entire drive home (honestly).  May I be that cool as I get older…

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in rule of 3 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Age is just a number

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    You will.
    No worries, you will.

    (I began painting classical still lifes in oils at 68 or so. No yoga, though.)

    Like

  2. this is indeed inspiring! i’m 23 but i bet all these ladies are more energetic. and i worry about getting older each year!

    Like

  3. Joss says:

    told ya! heh heh. Three days of threes. Not a bad week at all, at all. I, too am getting to be one of those ‘older women’ and I love hearing stories like this. My heroes!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Joss, you absolutely called it. 😉 For some reason, older women have always played a supportive role in my life (even from the age of 9, when I first started visiting a 97-year-old lady in a nursing home as a service project. That one-time visit turned into a weekly occurrence over the next 5 years; she passed when she was 102 years old, and I was 13. She was clearly a very significant force in my life, as I’m still talking about her over 20 years later – she had lived SUCH a life, and was gracious to share her memories [and experiences, and strength] with me. So, so cool of her.)… Wow, look at me on a tangent! Back to the topic: I fully agree. Vital, strong, older women rock. 🙂

      Like

  4. Grace says:

    I really liked this post, it was so inspiring. In another 10 years, that could be me!! 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Grace, I’m glad you liked this one. Thank you so much for reading, and for commenting! And yes, here’s to staying strong and willing, even as our bodies age. 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

