A moment of clarity

The city’s severe-weather sirens have been sounding intermittently for the past 20 minutes or so; just moments after my sweetie left the house for the night to play poker with the guys.  I don’t get too hung up about the weather – after all, what can I do about it?  If hail is predicted, I make sure the car is in the garage, I shut the windows, and I hope that it doesn’t destroy too many screens.  If strong winds are in the forecast, I make sure all of the trash cans and patio furniture pieces are secure, I shut all the windows, and I hope no trees fall on the house.  If (God forbid) a tornado were to arrive, I would haul my rear end down to the basement bathroom, shut the door, clutch a pillow, and hope my body doesn’t get damaged.

Still, when the severe-weather siren does sound (even for ‘just’ a bad thunderstorm), it’s always a little unsettling to be home alone.

When the siren sounded tonight for the third time in ten minutes, I looked out all of the various windows of the house.  I saw a dark gray sky and some semi-strong wind, but no hail, or green sky, or funnel clouds.  When I got to the window that overlooks our front yard, I saw two neighbors across the street.  They were standing in their driveway, also looking for weather signs, and talking to one another.  Clearly I couldn’t hear what they were saying, but in that moment of my looking out and seeing these two men, a realization came to me: I’m not alone.

If (again, God forbid) something terrible were to happen, and my sweetie wasn’t here, certainly I would be stressed out and scared, but I’m not alone.  I can go to neighbors, and they will help me.  Neighbors can come to me, and I will help them.  While our neighbors aren’t our “friends” (in the sense that we don’t hang out together, we don’t eat meals together, we don’t play cards together, etc.), we all are people who will care for each other when push comes to shove, should something big and scary arrive that affects us all.

Tonight, I got a reminder that in this whole big complicated deal called “life”, I am never alone.  It may feel that way sometimes, but truly, I am never alone.  I didn’t really understand that until just now.  Wow.  It’s a tough way to receive a message, but what a wonderful message to receive.

A severe storm isn’t a ‘typical’ reason to smile, I suppose; but this disturbance ended up being reassuring nonetheless.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A moment of clarity

  1. Joss says:

    What a lovely reminder to end the day with.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      It really was. The internal realization/awareness was quite a contrast to the external physical conditions; but it was all good. 🙂

      Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    I feel with you, Stef — strong storms, especially those with tornadic possibilities, are my personal bugbear, and anything to ease that stress is a gift.
    Your post again is ultimately about connections — an ongoing theme? Only connect! And you did, powerfully.

    Like

  3. Hope the weather wasn’t TOO bad and you make it through OK. 🙂

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Thanks Sharon! Luckily no tornadoes touched down here (though at least two were spotted not too far away), and while we did get hail, I don’t think it was too bad. I haven’t done a thorough check of the house yet, but from the windows everything seems to be pretty much in order. I’ll take it. 🙂

      Like

  4. Oh wow, thats lovely Stef. It is a little bit sad that it sometimes takes scary situations to show us how connected we are, but I’m sure its a lesson that will stick with you in your day-to-day life from now on too.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      It is a bit, I don’t know, disappointing? disheartening? realistic? – that it sometimes takes stress and strain to jar people (me) out of selfish/self-centered thinking and into a more collaborative/other-focused mindset; but you are very right in that it is a lesson/view I won’t soon forget. So for that, I’m grateful.

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

