Blushing teenage boys

School is winding to a close for students in the city.  As a result, kids are staring to be out and about during weekdays.  With no summer schedules or routines yet in place, youth are finding ways to fill their time – at least, until the time is filled for them.

So, on my walk this morning, I passed by four high-school boys standing on the side of the street.  My guess is that the “boys” (nearly men) were recent graduates – they had that “I’m-confident-‘cause-I-just-graduated-but-really-I’m-nervous-‘cause-I-know-my-life-is-about-to-change-forever” air about them.  Anyway, the four young men had one skateboard between them.  One in the crowd would take the board and demonstrate a trick (or attempt a maneuver) while the others watched, critiqued, and offered pointers on how to do it better next time.  It was really quite sweet.

As I approached the group, the activity ‘coolly’ slowed.  Casually, leisurely, nonchalantly [read: very calculatingly and methodically], the demonstrations and conversations winded down as I came within ear-shot – then completely stopped as I physically passed by.  Once I cleared the gathering, and my back was safely to the gentlemen, I heard the skateboard tricks resume: wheels once again clacked against the street, tennis shoes scuffed loose gravel, advice was offered/stated.

Despite their bravado, exterior assuredness, and ‘self-confidence’, these 17- and 18-year-old kids were just that: kids.  They didn’t want to mess up or sound silly in front of some random woman walking down the street; they wanted to be cool.

So I found it hilarious that I – a small, unassuming, approaching-middle-age woman – could wield that much influence over four large, loud, teenage boys, solely by my physical presence.  I also found it sweet that, despite their best pretenses, they really do care.

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blushing teenage boys

  1. Hi Stef,
    Maybe you have an aura that is beyond your ‘physical prescence’.
    be good to yourself
    David

    Like

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    I’m glad to hear this —
    there’s still respect and self-consciousness and a modicum of diffidence in the world!

    Like

  3. Awww. It’s so nice to know some teenagers still care enough to blush!

    Like

  4. barb19 says:

    It’s nice to see that some young men can still show respect to their elders – I think it’s so sweet how they reacted as you passed by!

    Like

  5. narami says:

    I love teenagers. Every time I have the opportunity to work or do something with/for teenagers I wonder if I chose a wrong career path only because I honestly think they are the awesomest sample of humanity and it’s so satisfying and wonderful to hear them and share with them.

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Teenagers can be amazing. (I think they can also be frustrating as all get-out, but I try to remember *all* that they are going through [emotionally, hormonally, life-wise], and then I feel compassion for them.) And considering all they go through, I think most of them do incredibly well! 🙂

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

