Numbers bring it all together

Occurrence #1.
This morning I was responding to comments on this blog (thank you to all who read these posts, and another thank you to those who engage by sharing your thoughts in this space; I very much appreciate and value all of you!), when I took note of the number of total comments that have been created since this little site began.  My sweetie was sitting next to me, so I played the fun game of, “Guess how many…?”.  Our conversation went like this:

Me: “Guess how many comments I have on the blog?!”
Sweetie: “Um…. Fifty.”
Me: “More.”
Sweetie: “One thousand twelve.”
Me: “Less.”
Sweetie (a little weary already): “Three hundred forty-six.”
Me: “More.”
Sweetie (slightly amused, slightly exasperated): “Seven thousand.”

And I immediately laughed.  I joked, “Do you not understand how a number line works?”; to which he also laughed.  (To be clear, yes, he does possess accurate knowledge of number sequencing; he was just being goofy with me to get me to end the ‘game’ – and to make me smile.  He succeeded at both.)

Occurrence #2.
Early this afternoon a baseball game was on TV.  I sat next to my sweetie, half-watching the game, half-surfing the web and getting caught up on various websites I like to read.  I encountered a comic at xkcd, and the topic aligned beautifully with the setting at hand.  I have made this same claim many, many times – and so I excitedly shared the cartoon with my sweetie.  He smiled.

Occurrence #3.
Later this afternoon I enjoyed one of my favorite beverages, and under the cap I read, “French author Michel Thayer published a 233-page novel which has no verbs.”

My very first thought was, “How is that even possible?”  My second thought was, “Well, I guess I could read the book to find out.”  My final thought was, “Nah, I’ll just look it up online.”

🙂

Stef

About Stef

A "serious" gal who is trying to remember to lighten up and smile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Numbers bring it all together

  1. Joss says:

    probably the first time in my life that numbers brought a smile to my face!

    Like

    • Stef says:

      Aww…. this makes me both glad, and a little sad… I’m sorry to hear numbers haven’t been your friends…. Unfortunately, it’s a common occurrence (too common, I’m afraid…).

      Like

Have a thought, opinion, comment? I'd love to read it!

